THEA 383 - Costume Design

Click through for a list of Image Databases provided by the Hunter College Libraries. You can access any of these by logging in with your NetID/password when prompted: https://library.hunter.cuny.edu/databases/type/8

We also have a number of streaming video databases available: https://library.hunter.cuny.edu/databases/type/15

Below are a few highlights, from Hunter as well as free, publicly accessible online resources.

ARTSTOR/JSTOR

Artstor, the premier image database, has merged content with JSTOR.  The millions of images that were previously only available through Artstor are now available on the JSTOR search platform. To learn about the JSTOR image experience, see the how-to guide here: https://guides.jstor.org/how-to-jstor/images

Start searching for Artstor images on JSTOR via the Hunter College Libraries.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art Collections: https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection

• Be sure to explore Open Access at The Met - a collection of public domain images from the museum: https://www.metmuseum.org/about-the-met/policies-and-documents/open-access

Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) Collections: https://www.moma.org/collection/

New York Public Library Online Collections (a selection): 

• NYPL Digital Collections: https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/
  • Browse and search these collections in number of ways, including by Division (Billy Rose Theatre Division, Jerome Robbins Dance Division, etc.)
• NYPL Public Domain Search By Color: http://publicdomain.nypl.org/pd-visualization/
• NYPL Mid-Manhattan Library Picture Collection Online: http://digital.nypl.org/mmpco/
• Digital Schomburg (from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture): https://www.nypl.org/about/locations/schomburg/digital-schomburg

Creative Commons Search: https://ccsearch.creativecommons.org/

• CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. 

Digital Public Library of America: https://dp.la/

• Portal to digital content held at the nations' archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

Europeana: https://www.europeana.eu/en

• Portal to digital content held in Europe’s archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.

Google Arts & Culture: https://artsandculture.google.com/