Looking for more information about Asian American Studies at Hunter? Visit Hunter's Asian American Studies Department site.
To find out more about what's going on in the field, check out some of these organizations:
For more information, check out some of the resources below.
- A More Perfect Union - Smithsonian National Museum of American History site looking at the history of Japanese American confinement from immigration in the late 19th century to court cases and redress that came more than 40 years after the end of the detention in 1946.
- Asian Pacific American Heritage Month - Every May during Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month and throughout the year, the National Park Service and its partners share the histories and continuing culture thriving in parks and communities today.
- Chinatown - Companion guide to PBS film Chinatown, with additional historical and film-related resources.
- Still Present Pasts: Korean-Americans and the Forgotten War - A multi-media exhibit of installation and performance art, documentary film and archival photographs, and oral histories that explores memories and legacies of the Korean War.
History & Culture
- Ansel Adams's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar - From the Prints and Photographs division of the Library of Congress, this collection of Ansel Adams photographs of Japanese Americans interned in Manzanar is part of the LOC's American Memory collection.
- Asian Nation - Sociological exploration of the historical, demographic, political, and cultural issues that make up today's diverse Asian American community.
- Densho - Oral history interviews, photos, newspapers, and other primary sources that document the Japanese American experience from immigration through redress with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.
- Hmong Studies Journal - Established peer-reviewed Internet-based academic publication devoted to the scholarly discussion of Hmong history, Hmong culture, Hmong people, and other facets of the Hmong experience in the U.S., Asia and around the world.
- Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive (JARDA) - Thousands of primary sources documenting Japanese American internment.
- Japanese American National Museum - National Resource Center, started in 1985, includes resources on Japanese American history.
- SEAAdoc: Documenting the Southeast Asian American Experience - Collection of images and searchable text focusing on post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam and the communities they have developed in the United States.
Art, Literature, Film & Media
- Ancestors in the Americas - A web companion to the PBS series "Ancestors in the Americas" by Loni Ding. Includes a timeline and links to to various Asian American resources.
- CET: Center for Educational Telecommunications - Founded in 1983 by Loni Ding, CET is a not-for-profit organization devoted to producing, publishing and consulting in the area of multiculturalism, with a special interest in Asian and Asian American concerns.
- U.S. Census Asian American Data - Census Bureau links to the most recent data on Asian Americans, including social and economic characteristics and other related topics.
- Asian American Health - A service of the National Institute of Health, this website contains to links to health issues that affect Asian-Americans.