Suggested Databases
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAn online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text of scholarly journal articles. NOTE: Current journals are not entered into the database for 2 to 5 years.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text periodical articles that focus on how gender impacts on a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- LGBT Life This link opens in a new windowIndex with full text of the most important and scholarly LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers as well as more than 150 books.
- SocINDEX with Full-Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive sociological research database. Indexes, abstracts and some full text of journal articles, books and conference papers, 1895 - present. Search through the EBSCO interface.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndex to scholarly articles on American history. You can search by keyword, subject, place, and time period.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2011) This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes the following: ProQuest Historical Newspapers Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1945); ProQuest Historical Newspapers Boston Globe (1872 - 1927); ProQuest Historical Newspapers Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1987); ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2006).
- Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- Archives of Sexuality and GenderAn archive of documents chronicling the LGBTQ experience in the 2nd half of the twentieth century. It includes newsletters, newspapers and periodicals, archives from LGBTQ rights organizations worldwide, government and medical responses to the AIDS crisis and more.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)Portal to digital content held at the nations' archives, libraries, museums and other cultural heritage organizations.
- Women and Social MovementsDocuments pertaining to the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
- Kanopy StreamingStreaming video of Kanopy films which have been licensed for curricular support. Faculty requesting that films be added to Kanopy must use their Hunter email and list the relevant course(s). Licenses are annual so content may vary depending on the subscription period.
*If you are having trouble streaming Kanopy films in Google Chrome, please use another browser (Firefox, Safari, Edge, Internet Explorer)
Finding Full Text Articles
Most databases allow you to limit your search results to "Full Text," meaning results that will be in the database. If you choose not to do this, you will still be able to get to your non-full text results, but there may be an extra step or two.
Limiting to full text will provide results like this:
Otherwise, you may see the "Find it @ CUNY" button next to some of your results. Click this button to explore your options for retrieving this resource.
Clicking the Find it @ CUNY button will lead to a page like this:
If there is a full text link available, click it and you should be all set. If not, you can still retrieve your article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Recommended Databases
Here is a list of databases to get you started with your research. This list is not comprehensive and you will likely end up using a variety of resources. Remember that all our online resources are available remotely by logging in with your NetID and password.
Recommended Databases
-
Full-text periodical articles that focus on how gender impacts on a broad spectrum of subject areas.
-
The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.
-
An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
-
Full text of scholarly journals in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities, and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for 2 to 5 years. Searchable by topic or by journal name.
-
Comprehensive sociological research database. Indexes, abstracts and some full text of journal articles, books and conference papers, 1895 - present.
Related Databases
-
Full text historical collections including period newspapers and magazines from the 18th century to the early 20th century in the United States.
-
An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.
-
ARTstor is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data.
-
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
-
Index with full text of the most important and scholarly LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers as well as more than 150 books.
-
A collection of databases in the social sciences, including PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Intl. Bibliography of the Social Sciences and more, and full text coverage of journal articles. The contents can be searched individually or as a group.
-
Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.
-
Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.
-
Documents pertaining to the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.