Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women & Gender Studies

Getting Started

Getting started with your research is often the hardest part. In an interdisciplinary field like Women & Gender Studies, you will need to explore a wide variety of resources depending upon the areas on which you choose to focus your research.

Recommended Databases

Here is a list of databases to get you started with your research. This list is not comprehensive and you will likely end up using a variety of resources. Remember that all our online resources are available remotely by logging in with your NetID and password.

 

Recommended Databases

  • Full-text periodical articles that focus on how gender impacts on a broad spectrum of subject areas.

  • The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.

  • An online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.

  • Full text of scholarly journals in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities, and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for 2 to 5 years. Searchable by topic or by journal name.

  • Comprehensive sociological research database. Indexes, abstracts and some full text of journal articles, books and conference papers, 1895 - present.

 

 

 

Related Databases

  • Full text historical collections including period newspapers and magazines from the 18th century to the early 20th century in the United States.

  • An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.

  • ARTstor is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data.

  • This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.

  • Index with full text of the most important and scholarly LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers as well as more than 150 books.

  • A collection of databases in the social sciences, including PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Intl. Bibliography of the Social Sciences and more, and full text coverage of journal articles. The contents can be searched individually or as a group.

  • Journal articles covering applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.

  • Index to journals in the social sciences 1929-1983.

  • Documents pertaining to the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.