Skip to main content

Art

Some basic research tools....

General Web Sites

Art and Architecture Thesaurus  The AAT is a structured vocabulary of around 34,000 concepts, including 131,000 terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture.

Art History Resources on the Web  A collection of topical art history related links.

Artcyclopedia  The guide to great art on the internet with 9,000 artists listed 2,600 art sites indexed, and 140,000 links.

Getty Research Portal  An online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain.

International Foundation for Art Research  A nonprofit educational and research organization dedicated to integrity in the visual arts.

Mother of all art and art history links pages  Art History departments, Research resources, Resources for visual collections, Image collections and online art, A sampling of online exhibits, fine art schools and departments, art museums, and textual and linguistic resources.

New York Foundation for the Arts  The New York Foundation for the Arts' mission is to empower artists at critical stages in their creative lives.

Public Domain Collections  Curated collections of images, books, audio and film, shining a light on resources from a wide range of online archives.

Smarthistory  Smarthistory.org is an open, web-based, art history textbook.

Thesaurus of Geographic Names  The TGN is a structured vocabulary containing around 895,000 records, including around 1,115,000 names, place types, coordinates, and descriptive notes, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.

Timeline of Art History   A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.

Union List of Artist Names  ULAN is a structured vocabulary containing around 127,000 records, including 375,000 names and biographical and bibliographic information about artists and architects, including a wealth of variant names, pseudonyms, and language variants.

WikiArt       an online, user-editable visual art encyclopedia

World Wide Arts Resource  Discover over 170,000 works of contemporary art: search by medium, subject matter and theme. Research over 200,000 works by over 22,000 masters in the art history section. Browse through new art blogs.

Writing About Art

Written with the needs of today's students in mind, Writing About Art explains the different approaches encountered in undergraduate art history classes.  A step-by-step guide to researching art historical topics and a section about correctly citing sources is included.