Skip to main content

Finding Social Work Library Resources in Spanish

Databases in which you can limit to results in Spanish language

Many social work related databases allow you to limit your results to those in Spanish.  Following are some examples that include significant Spanish language results.  If you do not find full text within the database you search, use the Find It! @ CUNY button (image of button) to check if Hunter Library subscribes to full text.  If not, you can use Interlibrary Loan to have full text emailed to you for free.  

 

PsycInfo 

Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in the field of psychology, 1887 to present. Has links to the full text of PsycArticles. Use the Language limit on the search results page to limit your results to Spanish

PsycInfo results page screen shot.  Language menu open, checkbox for spanish; castilian circled

You may also change the language of the PsycInfo search screen, or any Ebsco search screen, to Spanish under Languages at the menu at the top right of the screen, as shown here:

screen shot of Ebsco database, Languages menu open, Espanol circled

 

PubMed 

The search engine for the National Library of Medicine’s database of citations to millions of articles in thousands of biomedical journals.  On the Advanced Search, you can limit your results to Spanish.  It often works better to put search terms in English.  The abstracts are usually in English but full text will usually be in Spanish. 

Pubmed Advanced search screen shot.  Combo box with Language selected and spanish typed in search.  Next search box has social work entered.  Search history demonstrates more results for searches in English

Use the "Find It!" button at the top right of the results page to check if Hunter Library has a full text subscription.

 Pubmed result screen shot, under "full text links," "Find it!" button circled

 

PEPWeb 

Psychoanalytic library of journals, books and videos.  Use the Search tab to limit to Spanish language results.

.Screen shot of PEPWeb.  "Search" tab is opened.  "Language:" edit box has Spanish selected

 

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

In Advanced Search, you can limit your results to Spanish language. HAPI provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Its coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.

Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection

Collection of social sciences databases including social work, sociology, political science and more.  You can limit results to Spanish.  You can also change the language of the search interface to Spanish in Proquest databases, using the icon of a head in the top right of the screen

screen shot of four image menu

Databases with all or most results in Spanish

 

Access through New York Public Library

Require NYPL barcode and PIN

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

logo digitalia Hispanica

 

 

 

 

 

Digitalia Hispanica is a global academic database containing ebooks and ejournals in the Spanish language. The comprehensive Spanish language collection of 12,000+ ebooks contains titles ranging from Arts and Literature to Science and Technology. New content is added every year from Spanish speaking countries and Latin American publishing companies.

 

Access free online

 

  logo Citas Latinoamericanas en ciencia sociales y humanidades CLASE.  Indice de Revistas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias PERIODICA

 

 

CLASE PERIODICA CLASE (Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades/Social Sciences and Humanities) and PERIODICA (Indice de Revistas Latinoamericanas en Ciencia/Sciences) are analytical bibliographic databases developed by the Autonomous National University of México (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México-UNAM) since 1975 (CLASE) and 1978 (PERIÓDICA). Altogether they have indexed more than 3,000 journals from around 20 countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, and offer more than 600,000 records, of which more than 110,000 provide abstracts and links, external and internal links, to the full text of the documents from 16 countries, free of charge.  Subjects include:

Administración y contaduría
 Antropología
 Arte
 Bibliotecología y ciencia de la información
 Ciencias de la comunicación
 Ciencia política
 Demografía
 Derecho
 Economía
 Educación

 Filosofía
 Geografía
 Historia
 Literatura y lingüística
 Psicología
 Relaciones internacionales
 Religión
 Sociología

 

Ciberoteca. Large digital library in Spanish.  Includes sections on Bienestar socialPsicologia, Sociologia, Ciencias de la educacion