Datasets, Descriptive Statistics, and Demographics

"The GHO data repository provides access to over 50 datasets on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others."

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European union. The Eurostat database provides a more detail array of health statistics on European countries than may be found in the World Health Organization's Global Health Data Repository.

The Chronic Disease Indicators (CDI) is a cross-cutting set of 97 indicators that allows states and territories and large metropolitan areas to uniformly define, collect, and report chronic disease data that are important to public health practice. Data on behavioral risk factors and chronic conditions such as cancers, diabetes, and cardiovascular disease are available for states, territories and large metropolitan areas.

This data set contains counts of AIDS cases reported by state and local health departments, by demographics; location (region and selected metropolitan areas); case-definition; month/year and quarter-year of diagnosis, report, and death (if applicable); and HIV exposure group (risk factors for AIDS).

The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults, including Behaviors that contribute to unintentional injuries and violence, tobacco use, alcohol and other drug use, unhealthy dietary behaviors, and physical inactivity.

The National Survey on Drug Use & Health is the primary source of information on the prevalence, patterns, and consequences of alcohol, tobacco, and illegal drug use and abuse in the general U.S. civilian, non-institutionalized population, age 12 and older. Correlates in the reports include the following: age, gender, pregnancy status, race/ethnicity, education, employment, geographic area, frequency of use, and association with alcohol, tobacco, & illegal drug use.

The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is a state-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury. For many states, the BRFSS is the only available source of timely, accurate data on health-related behaviors. Results of the BRFSS may be searched on the county-level through the SMART database.

"... the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics ..."

Excellent place to start when looking for an overview of healthcare availability in a state. Provides data on health costs, insurance coverage, providers & service use, as well as data on demographics and the economy.

Assessments of healthcare delivery by the Commonwealth Fund.

NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene provides maps of data from its Community Health Surveys on key health topics such as health insurance, smoking status, obesity, HIV testing, binge drinking, diabetes, flu vaccination, asthma, domestic violence, and health status. Maps are available by neighborhood and by borough.

EpiQuery is a web-based, user-friendly system designed to guide users through basic data analyses on several datasets with varying topics and indicators for different NYC populations, including the NYC Community Health Survey, Health and Nutrition Examination Survey, Vital Statistics, Mortality Trends, and more.

Tables of annual data on new diagnoses of HIV (non-AIDS), concurrent HIV/AIDS and AIDS, as well as the number of persons living with HIV and AIDS and the number of deaths among persons with HIV and AIDS. The data are shown for New York City overall and by sex, race, age, borough, risk factor, and United Hospital Fund neighborhood.

Listings of Adult Care Facilities in New York counties.

Locations that freely distribute the NYC condoms, Durex condoms, and/or Female condoms.

Locate Flu Vaccine Clinics in the 5 boroughs.

Find information on New York hospitals, the quality of care they provide, their available services, and availability of reduced rate care.

Prevention Quality Indicators are rates of admission to the hospital for conditions for which good outpatient care can potentially prevent the need for hospitalization, or for which early intervention can prevent complications or more severe disease.