PH 755: Urban Health and Society Library Research Assignment

PubMed is a key database of health and medical literature. Its scope is not restricted medicine; it also covers important journals in public health, nursing, and social work. To do due diligence in your research, you should search PubMed for any health-related research question. The controlled vocabulary is called MeSH.

The Cochrane Library provides systematic reviews of evidence-based practices and interventions. MeSH terms are used in the Cochrane Library, as in PubMed. Cochrane reviews make a clear presentation of research question, methods, objectives, results, and included studies.

The Campbell Collaboration seeks to apply Cochrane-based methods of systematic review to social interventions in Crime & Justice, Education, International Development, and Social Welfare.

An enormous interdisciplinary database of scientific literature. The massive selection of journals in the natural sciences may give the impression that this is primarily a database for researchers doing basic science, but it includes a comprehensive selection of public health, occupational health, environmental health, and health policy journals as well as other social science journals that can be relevant for public health research. The citation index makes this a very useful database for researching citation networks.

A database of scholarly, general interest, and government documents that address environmental concerns. GreenFILE uses Subject Terms.

A collection of over 800 journals that provide robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

PsychINFO is a key database to search if you are asking a question about the PSYCHOLOGICAL or BEHAVIORAL aspects of public health. The controlled vocabulary is called the "Thesaurus."

The Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) uses a controlled vocabulary very similar to MeSH and- as its title suggests- is key source of nursing and allied health literature.

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, nonprofit organization of leading researchers in the United States. Its flagship journal publication Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, one of the most-cited multi-disciplinary journals, is indexed in PubMed- so there is no need to search the journal on this site if your systematic review includes PubMed. The National Academy of the Sciences Press publishes monograph reports and policy studies, some of which reproduce research originally published in journals.

Use the GPO's online system FDsys to search the massive array of information published by the U.S. Government; including statutes, codes, congressional records, education reports, and much more.