Library Help Videos

What you will learn:

• How to get help from a librarian
• Suggestions about where to start research
• When you will need to log in with a NetID

This video is from Centerville College Libraries

What you will learn:

• How picking your topic is intertwined with finding sources and writing a paper
• Example of broadening and narrowing a topic

More helpful guidance on choosing a topic from Centerville College Library

What you will learn:

• How to search for a topic in OneSearch
• How to use common filters to sort your search results
• Where to find the following features:
   
  • Full-text options for accessing resources
  • Citations in multiple formats
  • Options for saving

What you will learn:

• How to narrow a search in OneSearch to find basic background information online (eg encyclopedia articles)
• How to use Topic/Subject filters to find results focused on a topic

What you will learn:

• What is a library database?
• Why would you use one?
• Why and how to use keywords to search a database?
• Where to limit to peer reviewed results
• Location of FindIt@CUNY button to access full text
• How to save results

What you will learn:

• Explanation of peer review
• How to locate peer reviewed articles in OneSearch

This video is from NC State University Libraries.

What you will learn:

• What is a peer reviewed article?
• How does it get published?

What you will learn:

• How to determine the type of material a citation you have is citing.  This can help you with locating full text.
• When to contact the Libraries' liaison to Office of AccessABILITY, Adina Mulliken 

What you will learn:

• How to search Hunter College Library to determine if we have full text of a known journal article (when you already have a citation to an article).
• When to contact the Libraries' liaison to Office of AccessABILITY, Adina Mulliken 

What you will learn:

• How to search Hunter College Library to determine if we have full text of a known book chapter (when you already have a citation to a chapter)
• When to contact the Libraries' liaison to Office of AccessABILITY, Adina Mulliken 

What you will learn

• How to use interlibrary loan to obtain materials to which Hunter does not have access
• How to do a quick check to see if Hunter may have full text