Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Media 180

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete. Combines dozens of databases from all disciplines

U.S. Major Dailies. Has full text of The Chicago Tribune, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and The Los Angeles Times back to the 1980s

Off campus access to databases. You can get the list of Hunter databases from the Databases tab at http://library.hunter.cuny.edu. To get into a database from off campus simply click on the name of the database. You’ll then be prompted for your Hunter net id and password. For more information see https://netid.hunter.cuny.edu/login?next=/

Access to New York Public Library Databases.

1. Applying for a library card: https://www.nypl.org/library-card

2. Access to Academic Search Premier (close equivalent to Academic Search Complete at Hunter)

3. Access to National Newspapers Premier (close equivalent to U.S. Major Dailies at Hunter)

Search Tips

and narrows: stimulus and response: retrieves only those records in which both terms occur.

or broadens: language or speech: retrieves articles containing either term

not: bears not football: excludes sources containing the second term; use with extreme caution

* truncates: evol* retrieves evolution or evolutionary; note: Lexis-Nexis uses ! for truncation.