LibGuides: Communication Sciences 700: Introduction to Research Methods: Databases and Journal Literature

Recommended Databases for COMSC 700

Cochrane Library: Reviews of Evidence-Based Medicine
A collection of resources containg high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Known for the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
ERIC--Education
The Education Resource Information Center. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, and books from 1966 to present, with links to full text for many items.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
An index to existing behavioral measurement instruments, tools, and scales in the health sciences, psychology, and social sciences.
MEDLINE Complete
The most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, with citations from more than 5,000 journals. Features MeSH indexing.
PsycInfo
The largest database of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, from the American Psychological Association.
PubMed
A free search engine maintained by the National Library of Medicine, providing access to the MEDLINE citation database as well as other tools and resources in biomedical fields. Search with MeSH terms or keywords.

Full Text and “Find it at CUNY”

Most databases allow you to limit your search results to "Full Text," meaning results that will be in the database. If you choose not to do this, you will still be able to get to your non-full text results, but there may be an extra step or two.

Limiting to full text will provide results like this:

Otherwise, you may see the "Find it @ CUNY" button next to some of your results. Click this button to explore your options for retrieving this resource.

Clicking the Find it @ CUNY button will lead to a page like this:

If there is a full text link available, click it and you should be all set. If not, you can still retrieve your article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).