Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIOL 250/Raps, Fall 2021

Relevant Databases

Background reading: Gale Virtual Reference Library. Combines hundreds of academic encyclopedias; has useful bibliographies

Database for magazine and peer reviewed journal articles: EBSCO (All Databases); includes Academic Search Complete--a database that covers all fields and disciplines, and includes both peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed sources--General Science Full Text, and MEDLINE, a comprehensive database for research in biology and the medical sciences

Database for peer reviewed articles in biology and the medical sciences: Pubmed; Pubmed includes everything in MEDLINE, plus articles that haven't been indexed yet there and articles submitted by publishers “ahead of print.”

Database for magazines, peer reviewed articles, and books: Onesearch


Citation Databases: Google Scholar and Web of Science. Both will indicate how many times a given article has been cited.

Searching tips:

and: all terms must be in the items searched. Adaptation and fitness will only retrieve items containing both terms.

or: just one of the terms needs to be in the items search. Adaptation or fitness will retrieve items containing either term or both terms.

The asterisk (*) truncates. Adapt* will retrieve adapt, adapted, and so forth.