Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Policy 400 (Capstone)

Where's the full-text

To Find Articles:

  1. From any database use FIND IT to determine the availability of the journal article you are looking for, or, if you are not already within a database, search the Journal Title List or CUNY+ to determine whether Hunter College owns the journal title, volume, and issue you need.
  2. If a journal is available at Hunter College, do not request article via Interlibrary loan
  3. If a journal is unavailable at Hunter College, request article via Interlibrary loan
  4. If a Hunter College journal is missing, request it via ILL with note.
  5. Articles and book chapters are delivered in PDF format.
  6. Include the ISSN number for fastest ILL delivery.

Use Library Databases to find scholarly articles

OneSearch (listed above) is a great place to start your research. However, you may also need to use library databases. Our Databases page makes recommendations by subject.  Public Policy is interdisciplinary by nature, so consider other related subjects and use Browse by Subject for database recommendations.

Recommended library databases include:

Academic Search Complete: a multi-disciplinary database containing a mix of academic journals and magazines, including The Economist.

PAIS International and Archive: Has both international and domestic articles on policy

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: Abstracts and indexes from international political science serials, 1975 to present.

CQ Electronic Library: Six full-text databases from Congressional Quarterly

SocINDEX: primarily sociology but generally good for all social issues

Using Google Scholar to find scholarly sources

You can think of Google Scholar as a search engine (like Google) for scholarly articles and books. 

You can access Google Scholar at scholar.google.com. If you're not finding what you want, try Advanced Search (click the small down arrow in the right-hand side of the search box).

While Google Scholar doesn't replace our own library databases, Google Scholar is helpful -- particularly for tracking down partial citations or to see how often (or where) a given article has been cited. Link Google Scholar to the Hunter Library for all of your home devices. This will enable you to see full text of all articles for which Hunter has a subscription. Instructions