Recommended Databases
The following databases will help you locate journal articles on specific topics within medical lab science. Some of these databases primarily cover topics in other disciplines, but may still be useful.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text of four databases important to evidence based medicine.
- Health Reference Center AcademicIndexes nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers and students.
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive journal index from the National Library of Medicine.
- Science DirectFull text access to the long list of Elsevier Science and Academic Ideal journals available through the CUNY consortium
- Web of ScienceEnormous index to scholarly journals in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Full Text and “Find it at CUNY”
Most databases allow you to limit your search results to "Full Text," meaning results that will be in the database. If you choose not to do this, you will still be able to get to your non-full text results, but there may be an extra step or two.
Limiting to full text will provide results like this:
Otherwise, you may see the "Find it @ CUNY" button next to some of your results. Click this button to explore your options for retrieving this resource.
Clicking the Find it @ CUNY button will lead to a page like this:
If there is a full text link available, click it and you should be all set. If not, you can still retrieve your article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).