LibGuides: History of Gandhi-Manu Bhagavan: Databases, Indexes, Abstracts

Core Databases in History

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides English language abstracts of scholarly literature (journal articles, articles in collections, dissertations, book reviews) on world history. With full-text links to JSTOR.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences V This link opens in a new window
Complete text (full backruns) of core scholarly
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window

Project MUSE
Offers 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. One of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources.
Web of Science
Enormous index to scholarly journals in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from the first issue to the present. Provides the ability to search on cited references as well as more typical search criteria.
America: History and Life (Index)
Provides English language abstracts of scholarly literature (journalarticles, articles in collections, dissertations, book and media reviews) on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Now with full-text links to JSTOR
New York Times Historical
The Times of London
Digital Archive 1785-2012
The Sunday Times
Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1st January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Timeswith its own remit and perspective on the news.

Historical Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online
Historical Statistics of the United States is the standard source for quantitative facts of American history.

Other Databases

Academic OneFile* provides access to some 11,000 journals with full-text articles from more than 4,000 peer-reviewed journals and reference sources worldwide. 1980 - present
Academic Search Premier* is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. 1975 - present
Dissertations &Theses* includes more than 2.4 million entries for dissertations and theses in all subject areas from around the world. Provides abstracts for dissertations (July 1980-present); abstracts for master's theses (1988-present); and citations for dissertations dating from 1637. Nearly one million dissertations and theses are available for download in PDF format from ILL or use the same product at the CUNY Graduate Center.
Google Scholar allows search for scholarly literature across a variety of disciplines and providers including academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar is freely searchable; use the Findit button for full-text (if available)
Humanities Abstracts covers citations and abstracts of 500 journals in the areas of archaeology, classics, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion. 1984 present
Humanities International Complete includes all data from the American Humanities Index, plus more international content. Strongest coverage in literature and literary arts, but also includes journals in philosophy, theater, film, history, cultural and ethnic studies, archeology, music, dance, and multi-disciplinary humanities topics. Date coverage varies by journal, with some titles included back to 1929; some full-text
Literature Resource Center provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline. Covers more than 100,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors
MLA International Bibliography provides citations to research in literature, literary criticism, linguistics, modern languages, drama, folklore, film and video, and other communicative behavior. Covers American, English, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Yiddish, other European, Asian, African, and Latin American literature and folklore. 1926-present
ATLA Religion Database provides over 1.2 million citations about all aspects of world religions. Also covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, religious perspectives on world history, theology, and the religious aspects of anthropology, ethics, philosophy, psychology, history, sociology, and law. 1949-present
Phiosophers Index covers the fifteen fields of philosophy and contains research published since 1940, with additional records dating back to 1902. This database contains more than 495,000 records from more than 80 countries with content representing a variety of languages.