Finding Peer-Reviewed Literature: Core Nursing and Medical Databases
The following databases will help you locate journal articles on specific topics within nursing, allied health, and life sciences fields.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive source of peer-reviewed literature in Nursing and allied health fields, with full text from almost 1,300 journals.
- Gale OneFile: Health and MedicineFor students, researchers, and health care professionas. More than 2,500 periodicals, books, and videos.
- Health Source:Nursing/Academic EditionNearly 600 scholarly full text journals in many nursing and medical disciplines; also indexing and abstracting for 615 more; updated daily.
- LWW Nursing and Health Professions PremierProvides full text for nursing and allied health journals and book content from the publisher Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
- Medline Complete This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains citations from more than 5,400 current biomedical journals, many with full text. Includes disciplines outside of Nursing.
- PubMedThe search engine for the National Library of Medicine’s database of citations to millions of articles in thousands of biomedical journals. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Full Text and “Find it at CUNY”
Most databases allow you to limit your search results to "Full Text," meaning results that will be in the database. If you choose not to do this, you will still be able to get to your non-full text results, but there may be an extra step or two.
Limiting to full text will provide results like this:
Otherwise, you may see the "Find it @ CUNY" button next to some of your results. Click this button to explore your options for retrieving this resource.
Clicking the Find it @ CUNY button will lead to a page like this:
If there is a full text link available, click it and you should be all set. If not, you can still retrieve your article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).