LibGuides: Asian History: E-Book and Reference Book Databases

Under Construction

Please Pardon Our Appearance While We Work On Updating This Guide

Reference Sources

Credo Reference - Find references from thousands of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, subject-specific titles and multi-media sources on all subjects.
Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia - Online encyclopedia with 25,000 entries.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - The full text of hundreds of reference books.
Oxford Reference Online - Full text of over 100 of the Oxford reference works on a variety of subjects.
Sage Knowledge - Full text of Sage reference books.

E-Books

ACLS Humanities E-Book - An online collection of over 3,300 fully searchable high quality ebooks in the humanities.
e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection - Full-text of Duke University Press ebooks.
EBSCO eBook Collection - A selected collection of ebooks (formerly NetLibrary).
JSTOR - Full text of scholarly journals and books in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.
Online Books Page - Full text of over 20,000 free online books, maintained by the Univ. of Pennsylvania.
ProQuest Ebook Central - The site for thousands of ebooks on all topics from this vendor. It includes the collection formerly known as Ebrary Academic Collection.
SpringerLink - Full text of the Springer journals available through the CUNY consortium, and Hunter's collection of Springer ebooks. Green icon next to title indicates that we have access to a book or journal.
Wiley Online Library - Books and journals from the publisher Wiley.

Atlas of Languages of Intercultural Communication in the Pacific, Asia, and the Americas
Berlin ; New York : Mouton de Gruyter, 1996
Hunter Main - Reference, 4th floor - P130.5 .A87 1996

Note: Access electronic resources using any Hunter College computer (or off-campus using your Hunter College NetID).

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
New York : Charles Scribner's Sons, c2002
Hunter Main - Reference, 4th floor - DS4 .L48 2002
Encyclopedia of Modern China
Detroit : Charles Scribner's Sons/Gale, Cengage Learning, c2009
Hunter Main - Reference, 4th floor - DS755 .E63 2009
Historical Atlas of South-East Asia
New York : E.J. Brill, 1995
Hunter Main - Reference, 4th floor - G2361.S1 H5 1995
Japan Encyclopedia
Louis-Frédéric
Cambridge, Mass. : Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2002
Hunter Main - Reference, 4th floor - DS821 .F73 2002
Kingdoms of Asia, the Middle East, and Africa : An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Ruling Monarchs from Ancient Times to the Present
Gurney, Gene
New York : Crown, c1986
Hunter Main - Reference, 4th floor - DS32 .G87 1986
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
Electronic version available through Hunter.
The Britannica Guide to Modern China
Electronic version available through Hunter.
The Cambridge History of Southeast Asia, vol. 1
From early times to 1800, electronic resource.
The Cambridge History of Southeast Asia, vol. 2
The nineteenth and twentieth centuries, electronic resource.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Electronic version available through Hunter (Gale Virtual Reference Library).

Note: Access ebooks using any Hunter College computer (or off-campus using your Hunter College NetID).

ebrary This link opens in a new window
a large academic ebook collection, including over 47,000 titles covering all subjects. Select "Life Sciences" link to narrow to biology-related items.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Access book chapters and journal articles through Hunter.
gutenberg-e This link opens in a new window
An award-winning, open-acess collection of ebooks from the Columbia University press that covers a range of subjects. There are links to supplementary literature, multimedia resources and related websites.