Special Collections
We have a selection of materials from the Zabar Special Collections on display at the Zabar Art Library, room 1608 Hunter North. Our Special Collections contains items related to art and art history that are rare, valuable or in unusual formats. They are for in-library use only, so ask at the front desk if you'd like to look at something.
View all the items in the collection here: Zabar Art Library Special Collections.
Spring 2024
The catalog for the critically reviled, yet commercially popular, 2015 exhibition at MoMA titled "Björk : mid-career retrospective with new commissioned piece for MoMA" is on display now at the Zabar Art Library. Accompanying the display of the various items from the catalog is a folder of critical reviews of the exhibition. Although the exhibition was not universally loved, it brought crowds of Björk's fan to the museum. The catalog includes essays by Alex Ross, music critic for the New Yorker, and University of Sheffield musicology professor Nicola Dibben, among others.
Björk by ISBN: 9780870709609Publication Date: 2015-03-24Björk is a contemporary icon whose contributions to music, video, film, fashion and art have influenced a generation worldwide. Designed by top graphic design agency M/M as a slipcased world of wonders, this publication--which accompanies The Museum of Modern Art's spring 2015 exhibition on Björk--is composed of six parts: four booklets, a paperback and a poster. Each booklet contains illustrated texts by, respectively, curator Klaus Biesenbach, New Yorker music critic Alex Ross, British professor of musicology Nicola Dibben and the philosopher Timothy Morton (in conversation with Björk), while the poster features artwork from Björk's albums and singles. The main book focuses on her seven major albums and the personas created for each one. Poetic texts by longtime collaborator, Icelandic poet Sjon, are accompanied by shots of Björk performing live; multiple stills from music videos made by directors including Michel Gondry, Chris Cunningham and Spike Jonze; images of Björk in breathtaking costumes by designers such as Alexander McQueen and Hussein Chalayan; and shots by star photographers such as Nan Goldin, Juergen Teller, Stephane Sednaoui, Inez van Lamsweerde & Vinoodh Matadin and Araki. All combine to form an extraordinary design masterpiece, celebrating the magical world of Björk.
