Secondary Source Databases
- Academic Search Complete is the premier multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. It contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles, and is updated daily. The following short tutorial can help you begin your search in EBSCOhost, the platform that supports Academic Search Complet
- ArtSTOR provides faculty and students with access to over over 2.5 million images in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of your discipline.
- Directory of Open Access Books is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed books. DOAB is independent.
- Directory of Open Access Journals is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent.
- Gale OneFile Contemporary Women's Issues
Supports women’s studies with literature from the mainstream press, the alternative press and gray literature. Included works are written in English but global in coverage.
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
Full-text periodical articles that focus on how gender impacts on a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Google Scholar can be helpful when trying to tracking down partial citations or to see how often (or where) a given article has been cited.
- JSTOR contains full text scholarly journals and books in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.
- The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
- Project Muse is an online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery is an historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.
- Umbra Search
For the full list of Hunter College's Africana Studies Databases click here.
For the full list of Hunter College Databases click here.