Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CEDF 710

Databases

1. ERIC (EBSCO): The leading database for peer reviewed education literature. Can be searched in combination with other Education Source and Psycinfo from the Choose Databases link at the top of the search screen. 

Other relevant databases:

2. Education Source (EBSCO): Another comprehensive database for peer reviewed literature in education and related fields. Can be searched in combination with other ERIC and Psycinfo from the Choose Databases link at the top of the search screen

3. Google Scholar: Recommend for the following: To find articles that have cited a given article or book; to find articles related to a given article or book; to find the text of articles. 

4. Onesearch: The default search box from the library homepage. Well stocked with peer reviewed material in education. Unfortunately there is no way to limit to articles on recommended practice.

5. PsycINFO (EBSCO): provides comprehensive access to peer reviewed articles in the psychology literature. Can be searched in combination with other ERIC and Education Source from the Choose Databases link at the top of the search screen.

Search Strategies:

and narrows your search: parent and child retrieves only those articles with both terms.
or broadens your search (use with synonyms or related words): elementary or primary retrieves articles with either term.
The asterisk (*) truncates: parent* retrieves parents, parental, or parenting.

Off campus access to these and other databases: You can get the list of Hunter databases from http://library.hunter.cuny.edu. Click on the Databases tab. To get into a database from off campus simply click on the name of the database. You’ll then be prompted for your NetID. For more information about your Net ID see Hunter email https://netid.hunter.cuny.edu/login?next=/