Biology

Biology Databases (full text)

• JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) - PubMed-indexed, peer-reviewed video journal of research in the life sciences, available in multiple biology-related subject areas:
  • JoVE Biology
  • JoVE Clinical and Translational Medicine
  • JoVE Neuroscience
• eLS Citable Reviews in the Life Sciences - Full-text of over 3,000 articles across the life sciences with over 6,000 figures including photographs, tables and illustrations; hyper-links, and regular updates.
• JSTOR: Biological Sciences - Full text of scholarly journals and books in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.
• Bioline International - Open access journals from developing countries.
• BioMed Central - Over 100 open access journals in biology and medicine.
• Environmental Studies - Supports study of the environment, energy, sustainability and natural resources through news, background information, video, commentaries, statistics, and primary source documents.
• Environmental Studies and Policy Collection - A collection of over 800 journals and 6 subject specific Delmar reference titles provide robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
• Zoological Record - World’s oldest continuing database of animal biology and taxonomic reference on the Web of Knowledge platform.

Biology/Science Databases (abstracts/citations only)

• PubMed - The search engine for the National Library of Medicine’s database of citations to millions of articles in thousands of biomedical journals.
• Web of Science - Enormous index to scholarly journals in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from the first issue to the present. Provides the ability to search on cited references as well as more typical search criteria.
• BIOSIS Previews - Index to life sciences and biomedical research 1926 to present.

Science/General Databases (that include Biology content)

• SpringerLink - Full text of the Springer journals available through the CUNY consortium, and Hunter's collection of Springer ebooks. Green icon next to title indicates that we have access to a book or journal.
• AccessScience - McGraw-Hill’s online resource covering all scientific disciplines. It includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, plus biographies, definitions, images and videos.
• General Science - Science articles for students and the general public; full text from 1994 forward; indexing with abstracts from 1984 forward.
• Science in Context - Integrates authoritative scientific reference content with headlines and videos to demonstrate how science relates to the real world. Includes images, experiments and videos.

• Methods in Enzymology - (1955 - present) - Well respected and authoritative series, covers enzymology methods in wide range of areas
• Nature Protocols - (2006 - one year ago) - Includes peer-reviewed protocols submitted to Nature Protocols as well as protocols derived from research published in Nature journals
• Research Techniques Workbook Modules (Hunter College Biology Department) - 10 primers on basic lab documentation and techniques, including  "Keeping a Research Lab Notebook", "Using a Balance", and "Water Quality".  From the Undergraduate Research Techniques Facility, Biology Department, Hunter College.
• Springer Protocols - Search for protocols through SpringerLink, including Methods in Molecular Biology and other titles.

Click HERE to browse Hunter's collection of journals and select your subject from the dropdown menu:

Or, if you know the name of the journal you want, select the Journals tab from the library main page and enter the name of the journal: