Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AFPRL 20700 African Caribbean Politics

African Caribbean Politics

Using OneSearch

A great place to start your research is on Hunter's One Search

  • If you are looking for concepts with a specific phrase, try placing them within quotation marks:

​​

  • Use the Topic/Subject limiter on the right to narrow your search even further:

Books

You can expand your search to seeing what is in "all CUNY" libraries, yet the example below shows when you just search for a print book that is on the shelves at Hunter's libraries. Also note this example shows a book that is at the Silberman campus, on E 119 and Third Avenue. 

As long as it's a "regular loan" book that is in the "stacks" (the shelves), you can request a print book from another CUNY library. 

Note the call number (the location of the book) and look up where the first letter (H, in this case) corresponds to the floor maps in the library. Be sure the location corresponds with the branch library (Cooperman; Silberman; Zabar Art Library; Health Professions Library). 

For info about other CUNY libraries, go here.

Ebooks

You can limit your search to both full e-books as well as e-book chapters.  The following example is just searching e-books at Hunter but you can also try expanding your search to all of CUNY. Note that Hunter students do not necessarily have access to all e-books available at other CUNY libraries.

Databases

Always start your research from the library homepage. It's tempting to Google the name of the database you want to use, but if you don't start at the library homepage, you won't have Hunter access and may instead be asked to pay for things that should be free.

You can begin by typing your search into OneSearch or by clicking on the Databases tab:

databases tab

The databases are automatically sorted by title, but you can also select subject to see only the Sociology databases or type if you need a particular type of resource (e.g., data, e-books, polls, etc.).

databases by subjectdatabase by type

Once you have selected a database, off-campus users will need to log in using their NetID and password:

off campus login If you don't know your NetID, you can find it HERE.

Your Hunter NetID and Password

Learn your Hunter NetID and password and don't forget them! Although if you do you can always go here to look it up. Your NetID and password will allow you access to our WiFi,  databases, and other electronic resources from anywhere you have an internet connection. That includes your home, the nearest Starbucks, the airport...

Journals

Click HERE to browse Hunter's collection of journals and select your subject from the dropdown menu:

browse journals

Or, if you know the name of the journal you want, select the Journals tab from the library main page and enter the name of the journal:

onesearch journals tab