About Find Materials Services Help
This is the "Home" page of the "Public Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Public Health   Tags: public health  

A guide to resources for MPH students and those in related fields at the Hunter College School of Urban Public Health.
Last Updated: Apr 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.hunter.cuny.edu/public_health Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Books

Cover Art
Advances in Communication Research to Reduce Childhood Obesity - Jerome D. Williams (Editor); Keryn E. Pasch (Editor); Chiquita A. Collins (Editor)
Call Number: RJ399 .C6 A38 2013
ISBN: 9781461455103
Publication Date: 2013-02-20
Interdisciplinary perspectives from authors with backgrounds in fields such as marketing, communications, nutrition, public health, epidemiology, and working in both non-profit and academic institutions, this collection examines legal, ethical, and policy effects of advertising on childhood obesity as well as its effects on food habits and physical activity. Several chapters placing these issues in global and community contexts are offered.

Cover Art
Age-Differentiated Work Systems - Christopher Marc Schlick (Editor); Ekkehardt Frieling (Editor); J├╝rgen Wegge (Editor)
ISBN: 9783642350566
Publication Date: 2013-03-16
Reports from a six-year research program in Germany that investigated issues in occupational health and aging. Topics include: age diversity and team effectiveness, age differences in motivation and stress, age-related differences in the emotion regulation of classroom teachers, successful aging strategies in nursing, design of computer interfaces for aging populations, and many related topics.

Cover Art
AMA Manual of Style - Cheryl Iverson (Editor); Stacy Christiansen (Editor); Annette Flanagin (Editor); JAMA and Archives Journals Staff (Editor)
Call Number: R119 .A533 2007
ISBN: 9780195176339
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
The definitive guide. An online version is also available through Hunter College libraries.

Cover Art
American Dietetic Association Complete Food and Nutrition Guide - Roberta Larson Duyff; Betsy Hornick; American Dietetic Association Staff; Alma Flor Ada
Call Number: RA784 .D89 2012
ISBN: 9780470912072
Publication Date: 2012-02-03
A comprehensive reference on food and lifestyle related health topics- written to be accessible to a wide audience.

Cover Art
Applying Quality Management in Healthcare - Diane L. Kelly
Call Number: RA399 .A1 K455 2011
ISBN: 9781567933765
Publication Date: 2011-07-01

Cover Art
Clinical Trials - Lorna Speid
Call Number: R853 .C55 S625 2010
ISBN: 9780199734160
Publication Date: 2010-07-30
Written with patients and volunteers in mind, this book provides an overview of clinical trials- examining ethical issues, oversight, risk assessment, the roles of investigator and volunteer and other import concepts involved in clinical trials. Includes references, guide to resources, and glossary. Available in print.

Cover Art
Concepts in Male Health - James E. Leone
Call Number: RC48.5 .L46 2012
ISBN: 9780470486382
Publication Date: 2012-01-11
Organized around the lifespan, each chapter reviews dimensions of male health at a particular life stage and the contributing historical, epidemiological, pyschosocial, cultural, ethical, legal, political, and economic influences. There are also chapters on the history and promotion of male health. Range of topic coverage includes body structures, sexuality, aggression, drug use, aging, occupational health, and others. Available in print and as a CUNY e-book.

Cover Art
Environmental Burden of Disease Assessment - Jacqueline MacDonald Gibson; Angela Brammer; Christopher Davidson; Tiina Folley; Frederic Launay; Jens Thomsen
Call Number: RA566.5 .U56 M23 2013
ISBN: 940075924X
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
A report on the UAE's comprehensive assessment of the environmental burden of disease from outdoor air pollution, in door air pollution, occupational exposure, climate change, drinking water contamination, coastal water pollution, soil and ground water contamination, and food contamination. The first of its kind, the report is situated in the context of international experiences in setting environmental risk priorities

Cover Art
Essentials of Environmental Health - Robert H. Friis
Call Number: RA565 .F75 2012
ISBN: 0763778907
Publication Date: 2010-12-07
Revised and updated second edition of introductory text to the field of environmental health. Covers the background of the field; agents of environmental disease such as vector-borne diseases, toxic elements, chemical contaminants, and radiation; and applications of environmental health to problems such as air and water quality, food safety, waste management, and occupational health and safety.

Cover Art
Food and Addiction - Kelly D. Brownell (Editor); Mark S. Gold (Editor)
Call Number: RC552 .E18 F65 2012
ISBN: 9780199738168
Publication Date: 2012-08-30
Research on food and addiction addressing topics such as neurobiology and psychology of addiction, physical regulation of eating and body weight, clinical and public health approaches, legal and policy implications.

Cover Art
Food and Culture - Pamela Goyan Kittler; Kathryn P. Sucher; Marcia Nelms
Call Number: TX357 .K58 2012
ISBN: 0538734973
Publication Date: 2011-08-22
"Offers broad, research-based coverage of the health culture, food, and nutrition habits of the most common ethnic, religious, and regional groups living in the United States." Also features chapters that provide overviews of concepts of health beliefs, intercultural communication, and religion.

Cover Art
Gender-based Violence and Public Health - Keerty Nakray (Editor); John Devaney (Editor); Anne Lazenbatt (Editor)
Call Number: RA418 .G46 2013
ISBN: 9780415504928
Publication Date: 2013-01-10
First hand experiences, perspectives, and theoretical debates on violence against women from authors based around the world. Issues and experiences from developing nations receive emphasis, although some important issues -such as violence against women in post-conflict societies- are not touched upon.

Cover Art
Global Public Health - Franklin White; Lorann Stallones; John M. Last
Call Number: RA565 .W55 2013
ISBN: 9780199751907
Publication Date: 2013-02-18
A theoretical text that approaches problems and solutions of public health within a social justice framework. Topics such as public health history, ethics, and applications are examined from a community-oriented perspective.

Cover Art
Health and Health Promotion in Prisons - Michael Ross
Call Number: http://HV8833 .R67 2013
ISBN: 9780415523523
Publication Date: 2012-11-29
Introduces the significance of health and disease in prisons and the opportunities for interventions, taking the view that prisons should be considered as community institutions. The text covers topics such as social disadvantage, public health surveillance, health education, occupational health and safety and its relationship to inmate health, and others.

Cover Art
Health and the Therapeutic Environment - J. C. Moughtin; Paola Signoretta; Kate McMahon Moughtin
Call Number: RA566.7 .M68 2009
ISBN: 9781856176149
Publication Date: 2009-04-02
Urban Design: Health and the Therapeutic Environment brings a design perspective to issues at the intersection between the build environment and health. It offers theories on what makes for healthy and sustainable design and presents several detailed case studies across history and culture.

Cover Art
HIV Prevention with Latinos - Kurt C. Organista (Editor)
Call Number: RA644 .A25 H5938 2012
ISBN: 9780199764303
Publication Date: 2012-07-02
This books is organized into three sections addressing theory, population-based research, and the best evidence based interventions for HIV prevention in diverse Latino populations.

Cover Art
Human Resources Management for Health Care Organizations - Joan E. Pynes; Donald N. Lombardi
Call Number: RA971.35 .P96 2011
ISBN: 9780470873557
Publication Date: 2012-01-24
A comprehensive text addressing essential aspects of human resources management in health care. The text covers the health care human resources business setting, organizational culture, legal environments, health care workforce and volunteer management, job analysis, recruitment, selection, hiring, performance evaluation, and myriad other human resources concepts.

Cover Art
Hunter's Diseases of Occupations - Tar-Ching Aw; Anne Cockcroft; Paul Durrington; J. Malcolm Harrington; Peter Baxter
Call Number: RC 964.H8 2010
ISBN: 9780340941669
Publication Date: 2010-10-29
A key text occupational health, this reference provides both general overview and specific detail on a comprehensive range of occupational health issues, placing them in social and historical contexts.

Cover Art
Munro's Statistical Methods for Health Care Research - Stacey Plichta Kellar; Elizabeth A. Kelvin; Barbara Hazard Munro; Stacey Beth Plichta
Call Number: RT81.5 .M86 2013
ISBN: 9781451115611
Publication Date: 2012-01-30
Each chapter on data analysis includes examples from scholarly literature and illustrations of the statistic being computed in SPSS. The book also includes chapters on obtaining and understanding data and on building models, with a special chapter on presenting data in posters, presentations, and articles.

Cover Art
Public Health and Social Justice - Martin Donohoe
Call Number: RA418 .P83 2013
ISBN: 9781118088142
Publication Date: 2012-10-16
Provides an overview of the relationship between public health and social justice, reviewing concepts such as social determinants of health and inequality in access to health care; special populations; modern noninfectious epidemics such as obesity, tobacco, and gun violence; environmental health; and the relationship between corporate activities and scientific research. There are also sections on ethical issues and practical concerns for health professionals, educators, patients, legislators, and citizens. This is available in print and as a CUNY E-book.

Cover Art
Public Health Career Choices that Make a Difference - Bernard J. Turnock
Call Number: RA440.9 .T87 2006
ISBN: 0763737909
Publication Date: 2006-03-16
An occupational outlook handbook for the field of public health that details occupational classification, practice profile, important and essential duties, qualifications, workplace considerations, salary estimates, and career prospects for a comprehensive range of positions in a variety of public health fields such as public health administration, environmental and occupational health, nursing, epidemiology and disease control.

Cover Art
Public Health in Action - Jan K. Carney
Call Number: RA427 .C37 2006
ISBN: 0763734470
Publication Date: 2006-02-23
Anecdotes from a former state health commissioner about public health practice covering a range of political, ethical, cultural, and scientific issues.

Cover Art
Public Health Practice - Jonathan E. Fielding (Editor); Steven M. Teutsch (Editor); Stephanie Caldwell
Call Number: RA440.3 .U52 L67 2013
ISBN: 9780199892761
Publication Date: 2012-11-14
Details the application of the core capacities of surveillance, strategic planning, program and policy planning, and communications to a range of topics in the categories of health promotion and protection, emergency response, and service delivery. Case studies are drawn from the experience of the Los Angeles county public health department but- with perhaps the exception of one chapter on STDs and occupational health in the adult film industry- address issues relevant to public health departments across the U.S.

Cover Art
Public Mental Health - William W. Eaton (Editor); Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Dept. of Mental Health Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: RC454 .P83 2012
ISBN: 9780195390445
Publication Date: 2012-07-27
Intended as a guide to population-based research on mental and behavioral disorders, this thorough reference covers the nature of mental and behavioral disorders, mechanisms of risk, methodologies for gathering and analyzing data, and the behavioral health system within a public health framework.

Cover Art
Race, Ethnicity, and Health - Thomas A. LaVeist (Editor); Lydia A. Isaac (Editor)
Call Number: RA563 .M56 R325 2013
ISBN: 9781118049082
Publication Date: 2012-10-16
Collects many key readings on the topics of racial and ethnic health disparities along with several previously unpublished chapters. The collection is organized into five sections addressing historical and political considerations, theories and definitions of race and ethnicity, explanations for racial and ethnic health disparities, health system effects, and health disparities solutions. Available in print and as a CUNY E-Book.

Cover Art
Social Determinants of Health among African-American Men - Henrie M. Treadwell; Clare Xanthos; Kisha B. Holden
Call Number: RA448.5 .N4 S63 2013
ISBN: 9780470931103
Publication Date: 2012-10-16
The first book to apply the concept of social determinants of health to the health of African-American men. Contains four key sections examining, in turn, social determinants of health status, health behavior, health care, and health inequalities. The book treats issues of medical mistrust, substance abuse, incarceration, sexual risk, public policy, and several others. Available in print and as a CUNY E-book.

Cover Art
Social Marketing and Social Change - R. Craig Lefebvre
Call Number: RA410.56 .L44 2013
ISBN: 9780470936849
Publication Date: 2013-02-18
A comprehensive view of social marketing- covering history, theory, technology, and practical applications. Includes chapters on using social marketing to implement organizational change. Available in print and as a CUNY E-book.

Cover Art
Social Networks and Health - Thomas W. Valente
Call Number: RA418 .V35 2010
ISBN: 9780195301014
Publication Date: 2010-03-25
An introduction to theories, models, methods, and evidence of research and applications of social network analysis.

Cover Art
State of the World 2013 - The Worldwatch Institute
Call Number: HC59 .S734 2013
ISBN: 9781610914499
Publication Date: 2013-04-15
The annual report of the World Watch institute. This edition features chapters dealing with water supply, environmental emergency response, corporate externalities, and other issues relevant to public health.

Cover Art
The Law of Healthcare Administration - J. Stuart Showalter
Call Number: KF3825 .S65 2012
ISBN: 9781567934212
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Provides history and overview of both medicine and the legal system from a management perspective. Case studies and excerpts from significant cases are provided. The Affordable Care Act figures prominently in the 6th edition.

Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Retirement - Mo Wang (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 1062.O96 2013
ISBN: 0199746524
Publication Date: 2012-10-15
The Oxford Handbook of Retirement assembles an interdisciplinary collection of contributions from experts in fields such as psychology, occupational health, public health, business, sociology, economics, and gerontology and addresses theoretical perspectives, research methods, retirement practices, and trends in retirement.

Cover Art
The United States Health Care System - Anne Austin; Victoria L. Wetle; Vikki Wetle
Call Number: RA395 .A3 A955 2012
ISBN: 9780131391567
Publication Date: 2011-02-09
An introductory text that provides an overview of health care in the United States through basic business, management, and public health concepts. Chapters organized with objectives, glossaries, and study guides.

Cover Art
Transparent Communication of Health Risks - Rocio Garcia-Retamero (Editor); Mirta Galesic (Editor)
Call Number: RA423.2 .T73 2013
ISBN: 9781461443575
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
Covers topics such as numeracy and graph literacy for health, measuring risk comprehension, communicating information about medical treatments and screenings, public knowledge about the benefits of cancer screenings, symptom recognition for heart attack and stroke, health information in the media, and others. Also includes validated numeracy and graph literacy scales in English, Spanish, and German.

Cover Art
Treating Women with Substance Use Disorders During Pregnancy - Hendree E. Jones; Karol Kaltenbach
Call Number: RG580 .S75 J66 2013
ISBN: 9780199968558
Publication Date: 2013-03-19
Treating Women with Substance Use Disorders During Pregnancy combines science from research literature with clinical experience to discuss ethical and legal issues, identification of substance use disorders, and methods to assist patients in stabilizing and withdrawing from substances.

Cover Art
Urban Health: Global Perspectives - David Vlahov (Editor); Jo Ivey Boufford (Editor); Clarence E. Pearson (Editor); Laurie Norris (Editor)
Call Number: RA566.7 .U744 2010
ISBN: 9780470422069
Publication Date: 2010-11-23
Public health issues such as air quality, transportation, sanitation, terrorism, crime, infectious disease, aging, and a great deal more are considering in urban contexts. The collection includes numerous city case studies and each chapter presents clear objectives.

 

Welcome

The Schools of Social Work and Public Health Library  supports the curricular and research needs of the CUNY School of Public Health at Hunter College.  We offer this guide as a research aide for MPH and community health students and faculty.  Please click on the tabs above to find out more about resources available through the library. 

 


Librarian:

Profile Image
John Pell

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mason Brown
Contact Info
Send Email
Subjects:
Sciences
 

Chat Reference

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip