Skip to main content

Faculty Guide

A quick guide to the Hunter College Libraries for all faculty members.

Online Catalog

Our online catalog allows you the option to search all CUNY libraries' collections at once, or select an individual school's holdings. If you want to go directly to the catalog book search, select "Books" in the search options on the home page.

OneSearch is a new discovery tool that allows you to search the CUNY catalog as well as a large index of periodicals and other resources.

You can access OneSearch and the Books search from the Hunter College Libraries homepage.

My Account

Manage your library loans and renewals - and more - by using

Databases

The Hunter College Libraries has access to over 300 databases.

You can access a list of databases through the Libraries website homepage.

Journals

Hunter Libraries has access to over 100,000 journals, both electronic and in print. 

You can search journals by title by clicking "eJournals" under the FIND tab on the Libraries' website homepage.

Proxy Borrowing

In the event you have a Hunter student working with you as a research assistant, you may obtain a proxy library card for the student to use on your behalf in order to borrow library materials at any of the CUNY libraries. This proxy library card will be associated with your library account.  Therefore items borrowed with it will have a loan period of 6 weeks, you may renew them through your online library account and you will be responsible for any fines incurred related to overdue or lost items.

To arrange for a proxy library card, please contact Meshaw Browne, the Circulation Desk Manager at mb2225@hunter.cuny.edu or 212-772-4176.

CLICS - CUNY Libraries Inter-Campus Services

If there is a book you would like to borrow at another CUNY library, look for the blue Request a Copy button to have the book transported to the CUNY library of your choice:

ILLiad - Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is a national consortium of libraries through which you may access books and article unavailavble in the CUNY system.

Off-campus Library Access

You can access all of the Libraries electronic resources remotely - on a home computer, a tablet, and/or a smart phone.

Electronic Books

The CUNY+ catalog contains print and electronic books.  The catalog record specifies eBooks as "electronic resource" and provides a link to the full-text.

You can also search specific databases that contain eBooks.

Metro Referral and MaRLI - Visit NYC Libraries

New York City has a wealth of libraries!  

You may use the Metro Referral and MaRLI program to access them.

Feel free to contact a Librarian with questions about these programs.