Biology

Looking for more information about Biology at Hunter? Visit Hunter's Biological Sciences Department site.

For additional resources try some of these sites:

• Open Education Resources in Biological Sciences - Hunter College OER's compilation of open/free resources for biology and biological sciences.
• Complete works of Charles Darwin online - Largest collection of writings by and about Darwin. Includes his published writings and unpublished papers. Over 78,000 pages of searchable text & 188,000 electronic images.
• Index to Organism Names (ION) - ION contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Clarivate Analytics' Zoological Record® database. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added from other Clarivate databases such as BIOSIS Previews®.
• Science.gov - A gateway to government science information & research results. Searches over 38 scientific databases & 200 million pages of scientific information.
• WorldWideScience.org - A global science gateway connecting you to national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of global science sources. Maintained by the Office of Scientific & Technical Information, which makes R&D findings available and useful to advance discovery.
• NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service - The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)'s clearinghouse for all things aquatic. Students might also find the Careers tab of interest.
• ExPASy Bioinformatics Resource Portal - Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB)'s portal of resources in different areas of life sciences including proteomics, genomics, phylogeny, systems biology, population genetics, transcriptomics, and more.
• Audobon Guide to North American Birds - Searchable and browseable visual and informational guide to North American birds by region/taxonomy.
• Yale SenseLab - Integrated, multidisciplinary models of neurons and neural systems, including neuronal databases, olfactory databases, and disease databases.
• Biosciences Information Sources Consortium (BISC) eReference Collection - Authoritative sites covering biology and other sciences. Great one stop site for comprehensive resources. Compilers include the libraries of major research institutions (including Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Rockefeller University, Harvard University).

To find out more about what's going on in the field of Biology, check out some of these professional organizations:

General Science

• American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) - World's largest multidisciplinary scientific society and a leading publisher of cutting-edge research through its Science family of journals.
• National Academy of Sciences - The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine provide independent, objective advice to inform policy with evidence, spark progress and innovation, and confront challenging issues for the benefit of society.
• Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Open Access publisher whose goal is to empower researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by easing research communication.

Biology

• American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) - Scientific association dedicated to advancing the biological sciences to promote an increased understanding of all life.
• American Society for Microbiology (ASM) - one of the largest life science societies in the world, exploring the complete spectrum of microbiology.
• American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) - International nonprofit scientific and educational organization whose mission is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology and to promote the understanding of the molecular nature of life processes.
• American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB) - International community of biologists studying the cell, the fundamental unit of life.
• American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB) - Professional society devoted to the advancement of the plant sciences.
• Animal Behavior Society - Professional organization dedicated to promoting and advancing the scientific study of animal behavior.
• Association of Applied Biologists (AAB) - Leading British organization for promoting applied research in Agricultural and Food Sciences.
• Ecological Society of America (ESA) - Nonprofit organization devoted to promoting ecological science.
• Entomological Society of America - Largest organization in the world serving the professional and scientific needs of entomologists and individuals in related disciplines.
• American Society of Naturalists - A membership society whose goal is to advance and to diffuse knowledge of organic evolution and other broad biological principles so as to enhance the conceptual unification of the biological sciences.
• Marine Biological Association (MBA) - One of the world’s longest-running societies dedicated to promoting research into oceans and the life they support.
• Society for the Study of Evolution (SSE) - Organization to promote the evolutionary approach to biological problems.
• Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB) - Organization to promote research and education in biological and biomedical sciences.

Conservation

• National Audobon Society - Nonprofit conservation organization devoted to protecting birds and their habitats.
• The Nature Conservancy - International environmental nonprofit aimed at land and water conservation.
• The Wildlife Society - Organization whose mission is "to inspire, empower, and enable wildlife professionals to sustain wildlife populations and habitats through science-based management and conservation."

Medical

• American Medical Association (AMA) - Organization to promote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health
• American Physiological Society - Nonprofit devoted to fostering education, scientific research, and dissemination of information in the physiological sciences.
• Endocrine Society - 18,000 member global community devoted to advancing hormone research and broadening understanding of the critical role hormones play in health.
• Society for Neuroscience - Large international organization to support the neuroscience community, educate the public, and advance scientific exchange.
• Genetics Society of America (GSA) - Professional membership organization for scientific researchers and educators in the field of genetics.
• American Veterinary Medical Association (AMVA) - Member-run, member-driven association representing the needs and priorities of member veterinarians.