It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Media History Digital Library - A non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.
JSTOR: Film Studies and JSTOR: Communication Studies - Full text of scholarly journals and books in arts and science, business and economics, language and literature, humanities and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for two to five years.
Film & Media/General Databases (abstracts/citations only)
Communication & Mass Media Complete - Comprehensive index to communications and mass media, formed by the merger of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, plus additional material. Most citations have abstracts, and there is full text for over 200 journals.
Web of Science - Enormous index to scholarly journals in all disciplines, including film, radio, and television. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from the first issue to the present. Provides the ability to search on cited references as well as more typical search criteria.
General Databases (that include Film & Media content)
Academic Search Complete - The most multi-disciplinary and general full-text periodicals database. Contains the full text of approx. 3,500 journals, with indexing going back to the mid 1970's on some titles. Updated daily.
Google Scholar - Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
NexisUni (formerly LexisNexis) - Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis - including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 - with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) - Full text of the New York Times 1980 to current; Wall Street Journal 1984 to current; Wall Street Journal Online 2010 to current; Los Angeles Times 1985 to current; Washington Post 1987 to current.
Gale Literature - Gale’s integrated research platform for their literary resources. It searches multiple literature databases at once with workflow tools to analyze information.
Humanities Source - Resource to worldwide content on all aspects of the humanities in more than 1,450 full-text journals back to 1907.
Polling the Nation - Compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the U.S. and worldwide, from 1986 on.
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection - A collection of databases in the social sciences, including PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Intl. Bibliography of the Social Sciences and more, and full text coverage of journal articles. The contents can be searched individually or as a group.
SocINDEX with Full-Text - Comprehensive sociological research database. Indexes, abstracts and some full text of journal articles, books and conference papers, 1895 - present.