Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPAN 357, Prof. Hernandez-Ojeda, fall 2019

Returning to the Archives

After our group visits to the Hunter College Archives, you may return on your own to look at the same archival documents, or other documents. To do so you must make an appointment in advance using the Research Request form linked on the Archives page: https://library.hunter.cuny.edu/archives

Note that this fall the Archives are open limited hours: Monday-Thursday, 10 AM - 4 PM.

Your request form should indicate what materials you would like to see. When requesting materials, indicate a collection name and box number (this can be found on the left hand column of that collection’s finding aid).

Use the Archives' Finding Aids (https://library.hunter.cuny.edu/archives/collection-categories) to identify the documents you need and their box and folder numbers. If you need help with this, contact librarian Jennifer Newman Jennifer.Newman@hunter.cuny.edu

You may also find the Archives & Special Collections Research Guide helpful.

Tips for Research in the Archives

  • Don't forget the Archives & Special Collections rules: pencils only (no pens), no food or drink allowed, handle documents carefully, etc.
  • Use your phone's camera to capture images of documents to read through later, so that you don't have to make several trips
  • See this page of the Archives libguide for directions on how to cite an archival document (scroll down)
  • Make note of the box and folder numbers of any documents you use. You will need this information to
    • request to see the document again
    • cite the document in a paper or project