Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Top Apps for Nursing Students

This LibGuide lists the top ten apps for nursing students. There are two groups: Free and For Purchase.

1.       MediBabble: Translator app for non-English speaking patients.

Description:  High-quality sound recordings of thousands of questions and instructions. This app organized by symptom. It may be used to facilitate taking of the comprehensive (from chief complaint to review of systems) medical history or the targeted or abbreviated medical history.

It may to used to facilitate the physical examination and includes phrases used to prepare, position, instruct, and educate patients during the examination.

Languages supported:  Cantonese, Haitian Creole, Mandarin, Russian, and Spanish

Content: The content is written and reviewed by a panel of physicians. "Each phrase is closely reviewed by at least two medically-trained native speakers for accuracy, clinical appropriateness, and accessibility to [helpful for] to patients of varying levels of education and health literacy.

Offline use: The app can be used offline.

2.      Pocket Pharmacist--Pocket Pharmacist is a drug guide.

         Description: Pocket Pharmacist contains drug information, and interaction checker, and a medication organizer.

3.      MedScape--MedScape is a medical reference application.

        MedScape may be used to look up medications (with dosages) with the drug reference tool. The drug interaction checker         provides information to help prevent drug interactions.

         The evidence-based Disease & Condition reference provides useful information about patient care.

         Users may stay current adn earn CME at MedScape.

         Among other tools, features include, :

Articles about procedures that provide step-by-step instructions

Medical calculators

Image collections

Formulary information

4.      Skyscape Medical Library--The Skyscape Medical Library is a decision-support tool for physicians, nurses, students and other health professionals.

Description: Skyscape Medical Library contains over 400 resources and titles from leading authors, medical societies, and publishers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. Epocrates: Medical Reference App. 

    $159.99-$174.99.

     Description:

  • Includes review of drug prescribing and safety information for thousands of brand, generic, and OTC drugs
  • Aids identification of potentially harmful drug-drug interactions among up to 30 drugs at a time
  • Aids in identification of pills by imprint code and physical characteristics
  • Includes access timely medical news and research information
  • Includes providers consult list  for consults and referrals in the Provider Directory
  • Access to national and regional health care insurance formularies for drug coverage information
  • Includes dozens of calculations, such as BMI and GFR
  • Coordinates care securely with HIPAA-compliant text messaging

2. Symptomia:  Diagnostic Symptom app.

Cost: $3.99.

Description:

  • Symptomia was developed to aid in the medical diagnosis process by offering a fast, easy-to-use, and always available source of selected medical information.
  • Symptomia is a diagnostic aid that is based on the needs of medical students during their clerkship years and young doctors during their specialty training.
  • Quick access to medical information built-up around patients' complaints at the hospital bedside and the ambulatory
  • Symptomia places emphasis on symptoms because people seek medical advice based on observed symptoms.
  • For the doctor, the diagnostic process begins with observables, such as symptoms and lab results. As a patient's illness is always to some extent uncertain, a diagnostic hypothesis must frequently consider multiple diseases or syndromes. The diagnostic process is an iterative one that involves gathering data and making decisions about their diagnostic significance.

 

3. Pedi STAT: Reference for pediatric care

Cost: $2.99

Description:

  •  Rapid reference for RNs, paramedics, physicians and other healthcare professionals caring for pediatric patients in the emergency or critical care environment. 
  • Includes pediatric data specific to age and weight
  • Includes medication dosage/information.

 

4. Netter’s Anatomy Atlas: Human anatomy guide.

Cost: $89.99

Descrioption: Complete atlas of the human anatomy with quizzing and customization features.

 

5. Gray’s Anatomy: From Elsevier textbooks. Now in app form.

Cost: $79.99

Description: Complete text, index to clinical content, full HD illustrations of the body, back, thorax, abdomen, pelvis and perineum, lower limb, upper limb, head and neck.

 

6.  The Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy: Medical guide

Cost:  $29.99/yr

Descriotion:

  • Includes all the information from print guide
  • Expanded digital-only content
  • Numerous interactive features that make it an indispensable resource for today's medical professionals.
  • Full text search provides fast access, detailed search results, and highlighted search terms.
  • Intuitive menus provide another way to navigate and see the organization of our extensive content collection.