Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nurses Writing Project: Research Tools and Databases

A general guide for the Nurses Writing Project. A free, nurse-specific writing program of The Hunter-Bellevue School of Nursing.

Search

Recommended Databases

CINAHL Complete

Comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals with extensive full text.

MEDLINE Complete

Comprehensive journal index from the National Library of Medicine to over 4,600 biomedical journals.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments

Bibliographic database of information on behavioral measurement instruments.

Cochrane Library: Reviews of Evidence Based Medicine

Full-text of four databases important to evidence based medicine.

LWW Nursing & Health Prof. Premier

Full text of Lippincott Williams & Wilkins nursing and allied health journals and e-books

Related Databases

APA Psychology Books

Full text of APA ebooks published 2008 – present.

APA Style Guidelines

This resource is provided by the American Psychological Association. For a more in depth website, please use the APA section at Purdue University's OWL [Online Writing Lab]. We also have the print copy of the APA manual kept at the reference desk and on reserve at all of our libraries.

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

Index, with abstracts, to the journal literature supporting the caring profession - health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

Books@Ovid

Full text of selected titles in nursing and allied health sciences.

Health Reference Center - Academic

Journal articles and clinical and consumer health publications (some in full text) on a variety of health and medical topics; also provides definitions, overviews, book excerpts, pamphlets.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic

Nearly 600 scholarly full text journals in many nursing and medical disciplines; also indexing and abstracting for 615 more; updated daily.

Medline - Ovid

Comprehensive journal index from the National Library of Medicine to over 4,600 biomedical journals.

Merck Manual Online

Full text online edition of the Merck Manual.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection

Access to academic journals and other reference content concerning all aspects of the nursing profession.

Nursing Resource Center

Journal, reference and media content to support two year nursing programs.

Ovid Books and Journals

Full text of books and journals on the Ovid platform.

PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress

Citations and abstracts to the published literature concerning PTSD, sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs.

PsycArticles

Full text articles from 42 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations, from 1985 to present.

Psychology Books (APA)

Full text of APA ebooks published 2008 – present.

PsycINFO

Indexes and abstracts journal articles and book chapters in the field of psychology, 1887 to present. Has links to the full text of PsychArticles.

PubMed

The search engine for the National Library of Medicine’s database of citations to millions of articles in thousands of biomedical journals.

UpToDate

A peer-reviewed, physician-authored clinical resource offering evidence-based recommendations to support point-of-care decisions.

 

Other Research Guides for Nurses

Google Scholar Search