Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engl 120 Fall 2020

engl 120

Databases

Primary Recommendations:

Academic Search Complete: All discipline database; includes both popular and peer reviewed sources.

Onesearch: Default search from the library homepage; comprehensive; searches both articles and books.

U.S. Major Dailies: Provides at least two decades worth of access to the full text of The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal, among others.

Other useful databases:

Academic Onefile: Like Academic Search Complete, this databases covers all disciplines and fields with both popular and peer reviewed sources.

Ethnic Newswatch: Provides access to journals and magazines whose focus is on race or ethnicity. Recommended strategy: Advanced search; then choose Anywhere except the full text from the drop-downs on the right.

Genderwatch: Provides access to journals and magazines whose focus is on women's or LGBT issues. Recommended strategy: Advanced search; then choose Anywhere except the full text from the drop-downs on the right. 

New York Times Historical: Contains every article from the Times from 1851 to 2013. Recommended strategy: Advanced search; then choose Anywhere except the full text from the drop-downs on the right.

Searching tips:

and: narrows your results. Example: global warming and obama; articles have to contain both expressions

or: broadens your results. Example: global warming or climate change; articles have to contain at least one of the expressions; use with synonyms or related terms.

*: warm* will retrieve warm, warms, etc. 

For useful advice on finding sources see How do I find sources?

Off campus access to these databases: You can get the list of Hunter databases from http://library.hunter.cuny.edu and then choose the database tab. Off campus you’ll be prompted for your Hunter Net ID. Click here for more information about your Net ID.