Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COUNS 720 -- Culminating Seminar

Reference Books

These can give you an overview of a subject, help you focus your topic idea, and tell you what the classic studies in the field are.


Encyclopedia of Counseling.  Frederick T. Leong, ed.  Sage Publishing, 2008.  4 vols.  Available online.


Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology.  Springer, 2008.  Available online.

Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia.  Eric M.Andermann, editor-in-chief.  Macmillan Reference USA, 2009.  2 vols.  Available online.

Encyclopedia of School Psychology.  Steven W Lee, ed.  Sage Publishing, 2005.  Available online.

The Handbook of School Psychology.  Terry B. Gutkin and Cecil R. Reynolds, eds.  Wiley, 2009.  4th ed.  Reference, 4th floor - LB1051 .H2356 2009.

Handbook of School Counseling.  Hardin L.K. Coleman and Christine Yeh, eds.  Routledge, 2008.  Library Stacks - LB1027.5 .H34 2008.

The Praeger handbook of Education and Psychology.  Joe L. Kincheloe and Raymond A. Horn, Jr., eds.  4vols.  Praeger, 2007.  Library Stacks - LB1051 .P635 2007.

Handbook of Motivation at School.  Kathryn R. Wentzel and Allen Wigfield, eds.  Routledge, 2009.  Reference, 4th floor - LB1065 .W46 2009.

 

 

Encyclopedia of Counseling: Changes and Challenges for Counseling in the 21st Century [Book] 

 

 

 

 

Other Books

CUNY+ lists all books at Hunter and throughout the CUNY libraries.  Some relevant subjects to search for are:

  • school psychology
  • student counselors
  • educational counseling
  • educational psychology
  • specific conditions or issues, such as ADHD or motivation in education