Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latin American History

This guide was created primarily for the assignments made for Professor Mary Roldan's courses at Hunter.

Finding Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete [Hunter Only]
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals

CIAO:  Columbia International Affairs online. [Hunter only] Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators and other resources in international affairs.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index [Hunter only]1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.

Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection A collection of databases in the social sciences, including PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Intl. Bibliography of the Social Sciences and more, and full text coverage of journal articles. The contents can be searched individually or as a group

Handbook of Latin American Studies
1935-present. A bibliography of books, journal articles, proceedings in social sciences and humanities, edited by scholars selected by the Library of Congress.  A web based version going back to 1990 only offers more flexible searching (keyword, title, subject, author) and the ability to limit and is recommended for more current topics.

Historical Abstracts   [Hunter Only]
1954-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade

JSTOR [Hunter only]  Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.  Includes over 35 journals related to Latin America.

Project Muse Picks up where JSTOR leaves off, providing the full text of publications on the "other side of the moving wall" and some unique titles as well. Subjects include psychology, mathematics, history, American studies, history and literature of medicine, black studies, literature, performing arts, human rights, religion, children's literature, philosophy, politics, and others.

MLA International Bibliography [Hunter Only]
The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in Latin American literature and folklore. Important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890-present

PAIS International [Hunter only]  Indexes print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.  1915 to present

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) [Hunter only]   1956-present.  Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching to more than 1700 leading social sciences journals. In many cases with searchable abstracts plus links to e-journal images.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [Hunter only] Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.  1975 to present

Oxford Art Online  The electronic version of Grove's multi-volume art encyclopedia and other Oxford art reference works, with hyperlinks

World Scholar Latin America & the Caribbean serves the needs of students and researchers by bringing together in a single place a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video

 

Databases about Latinos in the US

Many of the general databases listed on the database page will help you find information about Latinos in the US.  In addition, there are some additional databases that are more focused on this population.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Abstracts and indexes the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields including international relations, law, public administration and policy, from 1975 to present.

Ethnic NewsWatch [Hunter Only]
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.