Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CEDC 743: Research Seminar in Elementary School Mathematics and Science

What are Bibliographic Managers?


Once you have saved a list of results, you are usually given options to print, email, save or export them.  The first three options are self-explanatory.  The fourth, however, may need explaining.

Bibliographic management tools - what are they?

Through Hunter College, you have access to two separate but similar tools to organize your citations while conducting research: EndNote and RefWorks.  Both serve as centralized locations to store and maintain all your citations from books, journal articles, etc.  You can import citations directly from databases as well as library catalog such as CUNY+.  Each tool also allows for simple conversion of citations into various styles such as APA, MLA, and Chicago, however since no software is perfect you should always proofread your citations for errors after formatting.  You can learn more about RefWorks and EndNote through their respective tutorials - find the links to the tutorials by clicking on the name of each utility.

Both RefWorks and EndNote now have web-based options for accounts, which means that whichever one you choose, you can access it from any computer with an internet connection.  You can also listen to a short podcast about Bibliographic Citation Management Services here.


RefWorks

  • RefWorks is a web-based program that allows you to create your own personal database of references.
  • Users can import references from a search performed in an online database automatically, or enter references manually.  
  • RefWorks also interfaces directly with Word, making it easy to import citations and incorporate them into your writing as properly formatted footnotes or in-text citations according to the writing style of your choice (MLA, APA, and hundreds others).

RefWorks works best using the Internet Explorer Web browser. Download the RefWorks Quick Start Guide here.

Click here for RefWorks

EndNote

  • Endnote is an online search tool that provides a way to search online bibliographic databases and retrieve the references directly into EndNote.
  • EndNote is a reference database storing, managing, and searching for bibliographic references in your private reference library. You can organize images-including charts, tables, figures, and equations, and assign each image its own caption and keywords.
  • EndNote is a bibliography and manuscript maker, formatting citations, figures, and tables in MS Word.

Click here for EndNote

Using Information Responsibly

In order to avoid plagiarism and properly attribute the sources you use in your research, you will need to learn how to read and write citations.

First of all, what is plagiarism? Below are links to two brief videos that will help you get a handle on what constitutes plagiarism, what the consequences of plagiarism are, and how to avoid it.

Citations

Learning how to read and write citations is essential for good research. Below are links to some online style resources.

You should also be aware that Hunter College has a Reading and Writing Center to help students with writing styles and citations. Their website is linked below. You can stop by during their tutoring hours and meet with an RWC tutor, one-on-one.

Exporting Citations

Exporting citations
Each databse allows you to export your citations to a selection of bibliographic management tools, or to save them in a document format that is easily imported into one or more of these tools.  Simply select the "export" link or icon in the database you are searching for the options available.
By exporting your citations into one of these tools, you are again saving yourself time down the road of having to manually type in all the bibliographic information for all your Works Cited or Bibliography citations.
Please consult the excellent tutorials and help menus for each tool for more in-depth information.

Look for the following Icons/commands within databases (click the images to make them larger and more legible):

EBSCO: the "export" icon is the little piece of paper with the green arrow on the right. Why? I don't know.


ProQuest:

Sage:

Wilson: