It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The American Revolution
This page was created for a class taught by Prof. Noah Gelfand but has resources for anyone studying the American Revolution.
All of the papers available on this website were collected and edited by a team of scholars at Yale University beginning in 1954. Yale University Press has so far published thirty-seven volumes of The Papers of Benjamin Franklin.
Evans-TCP, a partnership among the TCP, the Readex division of NewsBank, and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), created 5,000 accurately keyed and fully searchable SGML/XML text editions from among the 40,000 titles available in the online Evans Early American Imprints collection (series I).
Correspondence and other writings of six major shapers of the United States: George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 183,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.
The Madison Papers are arranged in seven series. Series 1 - 6 have been indexed and microfilmed and are available digitally on this website. Series 7 contains papers that were received after the collection was indexed and microfilmed and are now available digitally on this website.
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with the American Revolution, including manuscripts, broadsides, government documents, books, and maps. This guide compiles links to digital materials related to the American Revolution that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on the American Revolution and a bibliography containing selections for both general and younger readers.
This exhibition is an outgrowth of a National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Institute for School Teachers held at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in the summer of 2015 and codirected by David Paul Nord, professor emeritus at Indiana University, and James David Moran, director of outreach at AAS. For two weeks, twenty-five K-12 teachers from all over the country convened in Worcester for an intensive institute—also called The News Media and the Making of America, 1730-1865—that featured lectures and discussions with scholars, as well as hands-on workshops with original material from the AAS collections. Many of the items used in the archival workshops are included in this exhibition.
The Papers of Thomas Jefferson, established at Princeton University, is preparing the definitive scholarly edition of the correspondence and papers written by America's author of the Declaration of Independence and third president. Since the publication of Volume 1 by Princeton University Press in 1950, the project has been publishing, in chronological sequence, not only the letters Jefferson wrote but also those he received. As the first modern historical documentary edition, the project initially assembled photocopies of every known extant letter or Jefferson-related paper, approximately 70,000 items gathered from 900 repositories and private collections worldwide. Neither an archive of original manuscript materials nor a collection of digital facsimile images, the Jefferson Papers is a collaborative publishing hub providing in print—and now in electronic format—quality, contextualized Jefferson source material for posterity. With each new document transcribed, annotated, and edited to exacting standards, the Papers has provided an unparalleled, accessible source of the written legacy of Jefferson. The edition is comprehensive in scope, with the Princeton editors bearing the responsibility for the letters and papers during the period from 1760 through the end of Jefferson’s presidency on March 3, 1809.