Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 342: Feminist Rhetorics (Hayden, Fall 2021): Home

What are primary sources?

Primary sources are immediate, first hand accounts from the individual(s) with a direct connection to topic. They include:

  • Letters, diaries, interviews, speeches
  • photographs, video, audio captured at the time of an event
  • original research
  • datasets
  • Newspaper articles reported by journalist at time of event

Some things to consider:

  • Holder (repository) of digital collection
  • Where original collection resides, if known
  • Reasons for saving primary sources

 

*See this helpful page, Online Archival Research, in The Graduate Center's Guide to Archival Research.

Digitized Collections of Primary Sources

Here is a list of collections of primary sources relevant to the course.*

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century, New York Public Library

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

Tips:

Discovering Literature,  British Library

Gerritsen Collection, Aletta H. Jacobs

Hathi Trust Digital Library

Library of Congress Digital Collections

National Women's History Museum

New York Public Library Digital Collections

The Poetess Archive

Project Gutenberg

Victorian Women's Writers Project, Indiana University

Women and Social Movement, Alexander Street

 

HCL Database Subject categories

Newspapers
US and England: NY Times, Washington Post, Times of London, Illustrated London News, etc.

Primary Sources

Example:

Routledge History of Feminism

 

* Take advantage of the options available in sources to fine tune your search.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Iris Finkel
Contact:
Leon and Toby Cooperman Library
Hunter College Libraries
695 Park Avenue, East Building
New York, NY 10065
212-772-4188