Skip to main content

NYPL Databases for English Studies: Overview

New York Public Library (NYPL) Electronic Resources for English Studies

This guide describes electronic resources (bibliographic databases and digital text collections) that useful for literary research and to which the NYPL provides either online or on-site access.

How to access NYPL databases. Use of these resources online requires NYPL login credentials: a library card barcode number and a 4-digit PIN number. A library card and PIN must be obtained by completing an application. See the instructions for getting an NYPL library card here. An application can be filled out online (here), but must be validated by visiting any NYPL location in person. See a list of NYPL locations here. The two NYPL branches closest to Hunter College's main campus are described here.

All Hunter students and faculty are eligible. The only eligibility requirement for obtaining an NYPL card is that you "live, work, attend school or pay property tax in New York State" (not even only New York City). 

 

 

 

Overlap between Hunter and NYPL. This guide highlights resources that are not available directly through the Hunter College Libraries (HCL) website. Electronic resources directly accessible through the HCL website are not included in the main categories of this guide. For the list of databases accessible directly through the HCL website, click here.

Complete list of NYPL electronic resources. The guide you are viewing is a curated listing of NYPL electronic resources specifically for English studies research. View NYPL's own list of electronic resources ("Articles & Databases") here. You can search for titles of specific resources (i.e., Literature Online). You can also sort the list in many ways, including for "Language and Literature" (use the dropdown menu for "Subjects"). You can then sort these results according to whether they are available "at home" (or anywhere) "with a library card"; "only at the library"; or "everywhere."