Some of the new arrivals for programs at the School of Public Health. Materials from the current year are on the top, previous years may be selected from the drop down menu on each tab. These materials are available in the SSWPH library at 119th street.
Interdisciplinary perspectives from authors with backgrounds in fields such as marketing, communications, nutrition, public health, epidemiology, and working in both non-profit and academic institutions, this collection examines legal, ethical, and policy effects of advertising on childhood obesity as well as its effects on food habits and physical activity. Several chapters placing these issues in global and community contexts are offered.
Reports from a six-year research program in Germany that investigated issues in occupational health and aging. Topics include: age diversity and team effectiveness, age differences in motivation and stress, age-related differences in the emotion regulation of classroom teachers, successful aging strategies in nursing, design of computer interfaces for aging populations, and many related topics.
Written with patients and volunteers in mind, this book provides an overview of clinical trials- examining ethical issues, oversight, risk assessment, the roles of investigator and volunteer and other import concepts involved in clinical trials. Includes references, guide to resources, and glossary. Available in print.
Organized around the lifespan, each chapter reviews dimensions of male health at a particular life stage and the contributing historical, epidemiological, pyschosocial, cultural, ethical, legal, political, and economic influences. There are also chapters on the history and promotion of male health. Range of topic coverage includes body structures, sexuality, aggression, drug use, aging, occupational health, and others. Available in print and as a CUNY e-book.
A report on the UAE's comprehensive assessment of the environmental burden of disease from outdoor air pollution, in door air pollution, occupational exposure, climate change, drinking water contamination, coastal water pollution, soil and ground water contamination, and food contamination. The first of its kind, the report is situated in the context of international experiences in setting environmental risk priorities
Revised and updated second edition of introductory text to the field of environmental health. Covers the background of the field; agents of environmental disease such as vector-borne diseases, toxic elements, chemical contaminants, and radiation; and applications of environmental health to problems such as air and water quality, food safety, waste management, and occupational health and safety.
Research on food and addiction addressing topics such as neurobiology and psychology of addiction, physical regulation of eating and body weight, clinical and public health approaches, legal and policy implications.
"Offers broad, research-based coverage of the health culture, food, and nutrition habits of the most common ethnic, religious, and regional groups living in the United States." Also features chapters that provide overviews of concepts of health beliefs, intercultural communication, and religion.
First hand experiences, perspectives, and theoretical debates on violence against women from authors based around the world. Issues and experiences from developing nations receive emphasis, although some important issues -such as violence against women in post-conflict societies- are not touched upon.
A theoretical text that approaches problems and solutions of public health within a social justice framework. Topics such as public health history, ethics, and applications are examined from a community-oriented perspective.
Introduces the significance of health and disease in prisons and the opportunities for interventions, taking the view that prisons should be considered as community institutions. The text covers topics such as social disadvantage, public health surveillance, health education, occupational health and safety and its relationship to inmate health, and others.
Urban Design: Health and the Therapeutic Environment brings a design perspective to issues at the intersection between the build environment and health. It offers theories on what makes for healthy and sustainable design and presents several detailed case studies across history and culture.
A comprehensive text addressing essential aspects of human resources management in health care. The text covers the health care human resources business setting, organizational culture, legal environments, health care workforce and volunteer management, job analysis, recruitment, selection, hiring, performance evaluation, and myriad other human resources concepts.
A key text occupational health, this reference provides both general overview and specific detail on a comprehensive range of occupational health issues, placing them in social and historical contexts.
Each chapter on data analysis includes examples from scholarly literature and illustrations of the statistic being computed in SPSS. The book also includes chapters on obtaining and understanding data and on building models, with a special chapter on presenting data in posters, presentations, and articles.
Provides an overview of the relationship between public health and social justice, reviewing concepts such as social determinants of health and inequality in access to health care; special populations; modern noninfectious epidemics such as obesity, tobacco, and gun violence; environmental health; and the relationship between corporate activities and scientific research. There are also sections on ethical issues and practical concerns for health professionals, educators, patients, legislators, and citizens. This is available in print and as a CUNY E-book.
An occupational outlook handbook for the field of public health that details occupational classification, practice profile, important and essential duties, qualifications, workplace considerations, salary estimates, and career prospects for a comprehensive range of positions in a variety of public health fields such as public health administration, environmental and occupational health, nursing, epidemiology and disease control.
Details the application of the core capacities of surveillance, strategic planning, program and policy planning, and communications to a range of topics in the categories of health promotion and protection, emergency response, and service delivery. Case studies are drawn from the experience of the Los Angeles county public health department but- with perhaps the exception of one chapter on STDs and occupational health in the adult film industry- address issues relevant to public health departments across the U.S.
Intended as a guide to population-based research on mental and behavioral disorders, this thorough reference covers the nature of mental and behavioral disorders, mechanisms of risk, methodologies for gathering and analyzing data, and the behavioral health system within a public health framework.
Collects many key readings on the topics of racial and ethnic health disparities along with several previously unpublished chapters. The collection is organized into five sections addressing historical and political considerations, theories and definitions of race and ethnicity, explanations for racial and ethnic health disparities, health system effects, and health disparities solutions. Available in print and as a CUNY E-Book.
The first book to apply the concept of social determinants of health to the health of African-American men. Contains four key sections examining, in turn, social determinants of health status, health behavior, health care, and health inequalities. The book treats issues of medical mistrust, substance abuse, incarceration, sexual risk, public policy, and several others. Available in print and as a CUNY E-book.
A comprehensive view of social marketing- covering history, theory, technology, and practical applications. Includes chapters on using social marketing to implement organizational change. Available in print and as a CUNY E-book.
The annual report of the World Watch institute. This edition features chapters dealing with water supply, environmental emergency response, corporate externalities, and other issues relevant to public health.
Provides history and overview of both medicine and the legal system from a management perspective. Case studies and excerpts from significant cases are provided. The Affordable Care Act figures prominently in the 6th edition.
The Oxford Handbook of Retirement assembles an interdisciplinary collection of contributions from experts in fields such as psychology, occupational health, public health, business, sociology, economics, and gerontology and addresses theoretical perspectives, research methods, retirement practices, and trends in retirement.
An introductory text that provides an overview of health care in the United States through basic business, management, and public health concepts. Chapters organized with objectives, glossaries, and study guides.
Covers topics such as numeracy and graph literacy for health, measuring risk comprehension, communicating information about medical treatments and screenings, public knowledge about the benefits of cancer screenings, symptom recognition for heart attack and stroke, health information in the media, and others. Also includes validated numeracy and graph literacy scales in English, Spanish, and German.
Treating Women with Substance Use Disorders During Pregnancy combines science from research literature with clinical experience to discuss ethical and legal issues, identification of substance use disorders, and methods to assist patients in stabilizing and withdrawing from substances.
Public health issues such as air quality, transportation, sanitation, terrorism, crime, infectious disease, aging, and a great deal more are considering in urban contexts. The collection includes numerous city case studies and each chapter presents clear objectives.