About Find Materials Services Help
This is the "Home" page of the "Social Work: Information Souces for Immigration Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work: Information Souces for Immigration Policy  

Last Updated: Feb 5, 2013 URL: http://libguides.library.hunter.cuny.edu/SW_ImmigrationPolicy Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

You may access these databases from the Hunter College Libraries website's A-Z List of Databases.

  • PAIS International and Archive
    Index to journals, books, proceedings and other sources on the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science and other social sciences. Archive covers 1915-1976; International covers 1977-present.
  • CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
    Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is ... (a) source for theory and research in international affairs ... that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs."
  • Thomas Legislative Information on the Internet
    From the Library of Congress, and official source of federal legislative information.
  • CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Electronic Library
    Six full-text databases from Congressional Quarterly: CQ Weekly Web, CQ Public Affairs Collection, CQ Supreme Court Collection, CQ Washington Information Directory, CQ Electronic Encyclopedia of American Government, and the CQ Researcher.
  • GPO (Governement Printing Office) Access
    Official information on all three branches of the federal government
  • ProQuest Congressional
    Complete and thorough access to the full text of more than 25 years of Congressional working papers and legislation.

Electronic Journals

You may access all these e-journals through the Hunter College Libraries website's E-Journal Look Up

 

Books

Cover Art
From Poor Law to Welfare State: a history of social welfare in America - Walter I. Trattner
Call Number: Reserve & Stacks - HV91 .T7 1999
ISBN: 0684854716
Publication Date: 1998-12-01

Cover Art
In a New Land: a comparative view of immigration - Nancy Foner
Call Number: Reserve - JV6465 .F66 2005
ISBN: 081472745X
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Electronic

Cover Art
New Immigrants in New York - Nancy Foner (Editor)
Call Number: Reserve & Stacks - F128.9 .A1 N38 2001
ISBN: 0231124155
Publication Date: 2001-08-22

Cover Art
Culturally Competent Practice with Immigrant and Refugee Children and Families - Rowena Fong (Editor)
Call Number: Reserve - HV741 .C78 2004
ISBN: 1572309318
Publication Date: 2003-11-04

Cover Art
Reinventing the Melting Pot: the new immigrants and what it means to be American - Tamar Jacoby
Call Number: Reserve JV6475 .R45 2004
ISBN: 0465036341
Publication Date: 2004-01-07

Cover Art
A Different Mirror: a history of multicultural America - Ronald T. Takaki
Call Number: Reserve - E184 .A1 T335 1993
ISBN: 0316831123
Publication Date: 1993-06-01

Created collaboratively by

Prof. Meg Bausman

Telephone:212-396-7659

E-Mail: mbausman@hunter.cuny.edu


And Dr. Ilze Earner

Telephone: 212-396-7665

E-mail:  iearner@hunter.cuny.edu


Audio-Visual

  • Ethnographic Video Online
    Subscription database available through the library containing hundreds of videos.
  • Third World Newsreel
    "... an alternative media arts organization that fosters the creation, appreciation and dissemination of independent film and video by and about people of color and social justice issues."

Disclaimer

The web sites, organizations and agencies listed in this guide are provided purely as a convenience and do not in any way imply an endorsement of contents or services.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip