Databases
These databses are all available on the Hunter College Libraries website A-Z List of Databases.
- American Fact FinderPopulation, housing, economic and geographic data from the Census Bureau.
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsFederal statistics about crime. Has links to FBI Uniform Crime Reports and Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
- CIA World Fact BookConcise background information on nations, updated periodically.
- Country StudiesDescription and analysis of the political, economic social and national security systems and institutions of over 100 countries.
- Education Statistic at a GlanceData from several National Center for Education Statistics sources; includes The Condition of Education and The Digest of Education Statistics
- FedStatsStatistics from over 100 federal agencies.
- InfoShareData on population, immigration, socio-economic indicators, births and deaths and more from the 1980-2000 census, and from other federal, state and community agencies
- New American Fact FinderPopulation, housing, economic, and geographic data
- NYCdataWide-ranging statistical and factual information about New York City from Baruch's Weissman Center for International Business.
- Data Planet Statistical Datasets595 datasets containing over 14 billion data points from licensed and public domain datasets.
- Social ExplorerDemographic information about the United States from 1940-2000 through interactive maps and data reports.
- Statistical Abstracts of the United StatesAnnual federal collection of data on social and economic conditions in the United States.
- World Health Organization Statistical Information System / WHOSISGuide to the World Health Organization’s health related information including health-related statistics
Live Online Chat Reference
24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year!
From the Internet
- Community District Profiles - New York CityEach district profile contains summary data on population size; birth, death and infant mortality rates; land area and land uses; and levels of income supports; lists of selected acilities and program sites, including public and private schools, parks, public safety, health, mental health and other social service facilities.
- Crain's New York Business - CityFacts
- EpiQuery - New York City Interactive Health DataFrom the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
- Keeping Track of New York City's Children OnlineA "...comprehensive database" created by the Citizen's Committee for Children which is " .... updated regularly to improve access to factual information about child well-being and to increase awareness of risks and opportunities facing New York City's children."
- Labor Statistics for the New York CIty RegionFrom the New York State Department of Labor
- My Neighborhood Statistics - New York CityProvides statistics about New York City by Community Board, Police Precinct or School District regarding Health, Education & Human Services, Infrastructure, Administrative & Community Services, Public Safety & Legal Affairs and Business & Cultural Affairs
- New York City Board of Education - NYC DataCovers data related to graduation rates, achievement, progress reports, New York State Schools Report Card and School Demographic and Accountability Snapshot.
- New York City Census FactFinder
- New York City Center for Economic Opportunity - Poverty Rates Data Tool
- New York City Department fo City Planning - Population - Demographic Maps
- New York City Department of Homeless Services
- New York City QuickStatsFrom the US Census Bureau
- New York State Education Department - IRSInformation and Reporting Service
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
- SchoolBookFrom the New York Times, provides data regarding New York City Schools
- Self-Sufficiency Research Clearinghouse"... a virtual portal of research on low-income and TANF families and an online hub for professional networking among researchers, policymakers and practitioners who serve these populations."
- Vital Statistics - NYCFrom the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. Provides birth, death and infant mortality statistics.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

Loading...
