Public Policy Organizations
- The Brookings Institute"... a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC."
- Center on Budget and Policy Priorities"The Center conducts research and analysis to help shape public debates over proposed budget and tax policies and to help ensure that policymakers consider the needs of low-income families and individuals in these debates."
- The Center for Court InnovationsIn New York, the Center functions as the court system’s independent research and development arm, creating demonstration projects that test new ideas. The Center’s projects include: community courts, drug courts, reentry courts, domestic violence courts, and mental health courts
- Center for Economic and Policy Research"(CEPR) was established in 1999 to promote democratic debate on the most important economic and social issues that affect people's lives. "
- Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago" ... (is) a research and policy center focused on a mission of improving the well-being of children and youth, families, and their communities."
- Inequality.org"...portal for for data, analysis, and commentary on wealth and income disparity..." from the Institute for Policy Studies.
- Institute for Policy Studies (IPS)"IPS is a community of public scholars and organizers linking peace, justice, and the environment in the U.S. and globally."
- National Center for Children in Poverty" (NCCP) is ... dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children." A division of the Mailman School of Public Health at Columbia University.
- National Conference of State Legislatures
- The National Resource Center for Permanency and Family Connections at the Hunter College School of Social Work"... a training, technical assistance, and information services organization dedicated to help strengthen the capacity of State, local, Tribal and other publicly administered or supported child welfare agencies..."
- New York City Center for Economic Opportunity
- Project Vote SmartA non-partisan, volunteer organization which "provides ... relevant, unbiased information on over 40,000 candidates and officials".
- Self-Sufficiency Research Clearinghouse"... a virtual portal of research on low-income and TANF families and an online hub for professional networking among researchers, policymakers and practitioners who serve these populations."
- The Tax Policy Center"...(I)ndependent, timely accessible analysis of current and emerging tax policy issues...."
- The Urban Institute"Non-partisan economic and social policy research."
Federal Government Policy Sources
- 2011 Green BookSince 1981, the Committee on Ways and Means (of the US House of Representatives) has published the Green Book, which presents background material and statistical data on the major entitlement programs and other activities within the Committee's jurisdiction.
- Administration for Children and Families"The Administration for Children and Families (ACF), within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is responsible for federal programs that promote the economic and social well-being of families, children, individuals, and communities."
- American Fact FinderU.S. Census Bureau
- Congressional Budget Office (CBO)"CBO's mandate is to provide the Congress with: 1. Objective, nonpartisan, and timely analyses to aid in economic and budgetary decisions on the wide array of programs covered by the federal budget; and 2. The information and estimates required for the Congressional budget process.:
- GAO Reports"The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars."
- How to Find Your House Representatives
- How to Find Your United States Senators
- The Library of Congress
- Office of Human Services Policy"The Office of Human Services Policy ... focuses on welfare, poverty, service delivery issues, data for research, policies affecting children, youth, and families, and economic matters ... "
- THOMAS-Legislation Information on the Internet"THOMAS was launched in January of 1995 ... to make federal legislative information freely available to the public."
- United States Government
- The United States House of Representatives
- The United States Senate
- The White House
Public Policy Databases
You may access these databases from the Hunter College Libraries website's A-Z List of Databases.
- PAIS International and ArchiveIndex to journals, books, proceedings and other sources on the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science and other social sciences. Archive covers 1915-1976; International covers 1977-present.
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs OnlineColumbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is ... (a) source for theory and research in international affairs ... that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs."
Public Policy Journals
You may access all these e-journals through the Hunter College Libraries website's E-Journal Look Up
- Administration in Social Work1997 - present
- Analyses of social issues and public policy1997 - present
- Journal of Policy Analysis and Management1981 - one year ago
- Journal of Policy Analysis and Management1996 - present
- Journal of Policy PracticeMarch 2006 - one year ago
- Journal of public policyFebruary 1981 - September 2005
- Journal of public policy1998 - present
- Journal of Social Policy1997 - present
- Policy & practice of public human servicesAugust 1998 - May 2003
- Policy & practice of public human servicesContent from June 2003 - present is available through Gale's Opposing Viewpoints in Context database
- Policy & societyDecember 2003 - present
- Psychology, public policy, and law1995 - present
- Social Policy and Society2002 - present
- List of all e-journals with "public policy" in the title
- List of all e-journals with "social policy" in the title
New York State Policy Sources
- How to Find Your New York State Assembly Member
- How to Find Your New York State Senator
- How to Contact Your New York State Senator
- Search for New York Senate Legislation
- New York State Assembly
- New York State Bill Search
- New York State LegislatureSearch for Bill Text, Status, Summaries, Sponsor Memos, and Floor Votes by Legislative Session
- New York State Office of the Attorney General
- New York State Senate
- The State of New York
- Stateline - New YorkNews about state policy and politics, updated daily
Guides available through other Institutions
- Think Tanks & Policy CentersFrom Columbia University's Lehman Social Science Library
Social Work Research Guides
- List of Social Work & Public Health Research Guides
- Social Work: Library Guide
- Social Work: Information Resources Guide
- Social Work: Human Behavior in the Social Environment
- Social Work: Information Sources for Statistics and Demographics
- Social Work: Information Sources for Public Policy
- Social Work: Information Sources for Immigration Policy
- Social Work: Information Sources for Evidence-based Assessment Tools, Tests & Measures
- The Rosenbloom Genocide Studies Collection
Chat Reference
Disclaimer
The web sites, organizations and agencies listed in this guide are provided purely as a convenience and do not in any way imply an endorsement of contents or services.

Loading...
