Article Databases
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowIncludes a wide range of journals in the humanities, including a number of theatre-focused titles (Studies in Musical Theatre, Theatre History Studies, and more). You can select the option to only search for “scholarly” or “peer-reviewed” journal articles.
- JSTORJSTOR is a full-text archive of journals, and is an excellent resource for historical research. It includes several important titles for theatre research such as Theatre Journal and TDR.
- Project MuseAn online collection of full text journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses. They have a Film, Theater and Performing Arts collection that includes titles like Modern Drama, and Theatre Topics
- Google ScholarA Google search for scholarly content, which will sometimes link you back to resources in our library databases (from JSTOR)
Visual Resources
Below are links to databases that contain visual resources: photographs, art, textiles, videos, and more. Use them to enhance your understanding of the time and place you're researching.
Art Museum Image Gallery
A database which includes coverage of both fine and decorative art including: Painting · Sculpture · Drawings and Cartoons · Prints · Photographs · Textiles · Woodcuts · Posters · Costumes and Ceremonial Clothes · Jewelry · Ceramics · Furniture · Glass · Books and Manuscripts · Archaeological Finds · Masks…and more!
ARTstor
ARTstor <click here to access the database
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million
images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a
suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for
research and pedagogical purposes. Our community-built collections
comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers,
libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
The ARTstor Digital Library is used by educators, scholars,
curators, and students at hundreds of universities, colleges, museums,
libraries, and K-12 schools worldwide. We serve users in a wide variety
of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion,
anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian
Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and
more.
For additional information about ARTstor, click here.
Need assistance using ARTstor? Click here for help.
Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Includes footage of rites and rituals, dance, theatre, masks, and traditional costumes.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is an innovative gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources in one location. With the 2008 complete redesign of Grove Art Online and the addition of substantial new Oxford reference content, Oxford Art Online offers the most extensive and easily searchable online art resource available today, a virtual art reference library of unparalleled scope and depth.