Finding Background Information
Working Knowledge
In order to begin your research, you need to develop a working knowledge of your topic. A good gauge of "working knowledge" is if you can talk intelligently about your topic for one minute.
Resources for Background Information
Reference works, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are excellent places to gather background information and develop a working knowledge of a topic. Encyclopedias can be general (like Wikipedia, Brittannica, World Book, etc.) or subject-specific (The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, Companion to Theatre in Australia, The Encyclopedia of Stage Plays into Film, etc.)
Where to Find these Resources
Reference materials come in both print and electronic format, and all can be searched for in CUNY+. Print reference materials are located on the 4th floor of the main library.
Electronic reference materials can be found in some of our databases. See below for descriptions of these e-book databases.
How to Use these Resources
Reference sources will provide you with an overview of a topic. Use the information in the overview to generate a list of keywords relevant to the topic such as names, locations, time periods, political/social events, artistic styles/movements. Most reference sources also include lists of further readings on the topic. Look these up! They may include books, book chapters, articles, and more.
Reference Books
Oxford Illustrated History of Theatre by Call Number: PN2111 .O95 1995ISBN: 019212997XWe have two copies of this book: one in the reference collection on the 4th floor, and one in the circulating stacks.
Here are a couple of reference books available to you:
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays by ISBN: 9780198604174Publication Date: 2005-06-02Provides essential information on the best-known, best-loved, and most important plays in world theatre. Each entry includes details of the title, author, date of writing, date of first performance, genre, setting, and composition of cast; there is also a summary of the play's plot, and a brief commentary. Genres covered include: burlesque, comedy, farce, historical drama, kabuki, masque, melodrama, morality play, mystery play, No, romantic comedy, tragicomedy, satire, and tragedy. The perfect guide for students and scholars of drama and literature, theatre professionals, and directors looking for plays for performance.
The Oxford encyclopedia of theatre & performance by Call Number: PN2035 .O94 2003, v.1-2ISBN: 0198601743Available as an ebook in Oxford Reference, or in print at the call number above.
Reference Databases
The following databases are great places to begin your research. Think of them as your Wikipedia alternatives.
- Cambridge HistoriesExcellent for context, this database contains the full-text of the Cambridge Histories including General History, Regional Histories, Theatre and Performing Arts, Music, and more.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowGVRL is a collection of encyclopedias on various topics. Entries you find here will also lead you to other, more in-depth sources via bibliographies.
- Oxford Reference OnlineIncludes art, music, theatre/performing arts and much more.