Users with print disabilities and blind people who use screen reader software may want to contact a librarian for assistance with searching for ebooks due to common accessibility problems. You are welcome to call or email Adina Mulliken 212-396-7665.
Full text of APA ebooks published 2008 – present.
Included in OneSearch? Yes
Accessibility to people with print disabilities: Ebooks are in untagged PDFs. Screen readers can read the PDFs but will not have accurate access to tables, graphs, section headings, chapter titles, page numbers and more. Reading of text is interrupted by reading headers and footers. No professional accessibility reviews were found.
Downloading for offline use: PDFs of individual chapters can be downloaded and used on any device that supports PDFs. (You can use the ebooks online without downloading.)
EBSCO eBook Collection
A selected collection of ebooks on a wide variety of subjects.
Included in OneSearch? Some
Accessibility to people with print disabilities: Ebooks are partially accessible. According to a professional accessibility review dated April 21, 2017, these ebooks "present significant problems for screen reader users." Ebsco provides screen reader navigation tips. Some ebooks include lexile reading levels, which may assist in searching for books for some users with cognitive disabilities.
Downloading for offline use: In order to download ebooks, you must have the free Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher installed on your computer. Downloading Tutorial includes downloading to ioS and Android. (You can use the ebooks online without downloading.)
Full text of thousands of books covering education topics K-12 and higher education, from introductory to professional level.
Included in OneSearch? Some
Accessibility to people with print disabilities: Ebooks are partially accessible. This has the same interface as Ebsco ebooks. According to a professional accessibility review dated April 21, 2017, these ebooks "present significant problems for screen reader users." Ebsco provides screen reader navigation tips. Some ebooks include lexile reading levels, which may assist in searching for books for some users with cognitive disabilities.
Downloading for offline use: In order to download ebooks, you must have the free Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher installed on your computer. Downloading Tutorial includes downloading to ioS and Android. (You can use the ebooks online without downloading.)
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. It includes about 20 million books and texts on unlimited topics.
Included in OneSearch? No
Accessibility to people with print disabilities: See disability access information. Many items are available in accessible formats including DAISY. People with disabilities can access additional content if you sign up as a person with a disability.
Downloading for offline use: In the Internet Archive Books collection, some books can be freely read and downloaded. Others can be borrowed and read in their online book reader. Books in Books to Borrow collection may be borrowed by logged in patrons for a period of two weeks. You may read the books online in your browser, or download them into the free Adobe Digital Editions, a piece of software used for managing loans.
Full text of Lippincott Williams & Wilkins nursing and allied health journals and e-books.
Included in OneSearch? Some
Accessibility to people with print disabilities: Ebooks are in untagged PDFs. Screen readers can read the PDFs but will not have accurate access to tables, graphs, section headings, chapter titles, page numbers and more. Reading of text is interrupted by reading headers and footers. No professional accessibility reviews were found.
Downloading for offline use: PDFs can be downloaded and used on any device that supports PDFs. (You can use the ebooks online without downloading.)
Psychoanalytic library of journals, books and videos.
Included in OneSearch? No, although some of the same ebook titles in PEP-Web are available in OneSearch from other vendors.
Accessibility to people with print disabilities: Books are in html which is more usable than other formats for some users with print disabilities. Accessibility problems include lack of color contrast and use of a serif font, which is difficult for some users with learning disabilities to read. Also a few elements of the webpage are accessed in an unusual order for people who can not use a mouse. Books can be downloaded as an untagged PDF or EPUB. Screen readers can read the PDFs but will not have accurate access to tables, graphs, section headings, chapter titles, page numbers and more. No professional accessibility reviews were found.
Downloading for offline use: Entire books can be downloaded as a PDF or EPUB. (You can use the ebooks online without downloading.)
The site for thousands of ebooks on all topics from this vendor. It includes the collection formerly known as Ebrary Academic Collection.
Included in OneSearch? Yes
Accessibility to people with print disabilities: PDF ebooks may be partially accessible and users with print disabilities may want assistance searching for them due to accessibility problems in the search pages. According to a professional accessibility review dated November 27, 2017, accessibility problems for people with print disabilities in Proquest Ebook Central include keyboard traps (people who can't use a mouse will get stuck in some places), untagged PDFs (blind users' software can read the PDFs but will not have accurate access to tables, graphs, section headings, chapter titles, page numbers and more.), and focus problems (e.g. for people who can't use a mouse, sometimes page confusingly jumps back to the top when using dialog boxes). Proquest has said it will work on the keyboard traps and focus problems in 2018.
Downloading for offline use: In order to download ebooks, you must have the free Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer. To download on ioS or Android, download Bluefire Reader. More information on downloading Proquest ebooks . (You can use the ebooks online without downloading.)
Full text of the Springer journals available through the CUNY consortium, and Hunter's collection of Springer ebooks. Green icon next to title indicates that we have access to a book or journal. Includes over 16,000 titles focused on Social Work.
Included in OneSearch? Many are in OneSearch but the most recent are not.
Accessibility to people with print disabilities: Books are available in html, as EPUB or as untagged PDFs. Html is more usable to some people with print disabilities. Some tables, images, graphs and symbols are not described so not accessible to all users. No professional accessibility reviews were found.
Downloading for offline use: Full ebooks can be downloaded on phones, tablets and computers. More info on Springer downloads (You can use the ebooks online without downloading.)