Textbooks
Introduction to Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies
From the Description:"This textbook introduces key feminist concepts and analytical frameworks used in the interdisciplinary Women, Gender, Sexualities field. It unpacks the social construction of knowledge and categories of difference, processes and structures of power and inequality, with a focus on gendered labor in the global economy, and the historical development of feminist social movements. The book emphasizes feminist sociological approaches to analyzing structures of power, drawing heavily from empirical feminist research."
Stories of Women:Gender and Narrative in the Postcolonial Nation
From the Abstract:"Elleke Boehmer's work on the crucial intersections between independence, nationalism and gender has already proved canonical in the field. 'Stories of women' combines her keynote essays on the mother figure and the postcolonial nation, with incisive new work on male autobiography, 'daughter' writers, the colonial body, the trauma of the post-colony, and the nation in a transnational context. Focusing on Africa as well as South Asia, and sexuality as well as gender, Boehmer offers fine close readings of writers ranging from Achebe, Okri and Mandela to Arundhati Roy and Yvonne Vera, shaping these into a critical engagement with theorists of the nation like Fredric Jameson and Partha Chatterjee. This new paperback edition will be of interest to readers and researchers of postcolonial, international and women's writing; of nation theory, colonial history and historiography; of Indian, African, migrant and diasporic literatures, and is likely to prove a landmark study in the field."
Collections
Library of Congress
LGBTQ+ Studies Archive
From the About Page:"The LGBTQ+ Studies Web Archive collects and preserves online content which documents LGBTQ+ history, scholarship, and culture in the United States and around the world. Sites include domestic and international non-profit organizations, journalism and news external link, creative works and expressions, historical records, and more. Collection priorities include primary sources, first-hand accounts, coverage of significant events, and essential artifacts of cultural memory."
Library of Congress
LGBTQ+ Politics and Political Candidates Web Archive
From the About Page:"The LGBTQ+ Politics and Political Candidates Web Archive captures digital content related to LBGTQ+ political candidates and political issues and topics at various levels of government, with a focus on lesser-known local and state politics. This archive preserves a representative sample of what is being called "The Rainbow Wave," which refers to the previously unprecedented number of LGBTQ+ identified candidates openly running for office. These websites provide a record of individuals attempting historic firsts in American politics."
Library of Congress
Women's and Gender Studies Web Archive
From the About Page:"The Women's and Gender Studies Web Archive collects and preserves online content on topics of importance to the interdisciplinary field of Women's and Gender Studies. Collection priorities include primary sources, first hand accounts, and records of social, cultural, and political movements for gender equality. This archive provides enduring access to resources which illuminate underrepresented perspectives and identities, many of which are not typically found in traditional print resources or in institutions of cultural memory. Sites which document topics relevant to the history, current field, and future directions of Women's and Gender Studies as an academic discipline are likewise collected."
Library of Congress
Zine Web Archive
From the About Page:"The Library of Congress has a growing collection of zines. The Zine Web Archive was created to supplement the physical zine collection. In general, zines are: self-published, self-created, self-distributed, and non-commercial. The independent nature of these publications allows for an unprecedented freedom of expression, and as such, these materials are incredibly valuable primary source materials. Collection priorities include zines by people of color, women, immigrants, and LGBTQ+ and transgender and gender non-conforming individuals and organizations. Subjects and perspectives which have been traditionally underrepresented in mainstream media (and therefore libraries) are also a high priority for collection."
Journals
ABO: Interactive Journal for Women in the Arts,
1640-1830
From the Description:"ABO: Interactive Journal for Women in the Arts, 1640-1830 (ISSN 2157-7129) is an open access, interactive, scholarly journal, launched in 2011 by the Aphra Behn Society. The journal is supported by the University of South Florida Tampa Library. The journal focuses on gender and women’s issues, and all aspects of women in the arts in the long eighteenth century, especially literature, visual arts, music, performance art, film criticism, and production arts.
Its public scholarship blog, ABOPublic, publishes shorter articles and interactive content geared toward a public audience. It also houses Ask Aphra, a professional advice column.".