Textbooks
OpenStax
Psychology
From the Summary:"Psychology is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe."
Peer Reviews
SUNY OER Services: Abnormal Psychology
From the Abstract:"This textbook was created to provide an engaging and personally relevant overview of the discipline of Abnormal Psychology. It introduces the theories useful for understanding the cognitive and behavioral patterns which impair personal effectiveness and adjustment. It is not intended to provide a comprehensive overview of the discipline.
The original content in this course was created by Professor Bill Pelz at Herkimer College / SUNY and is provided under a Creative Commons license."
Mind, Body, World: Foundations of Cognitive Science
From the Abstract:"Examples, cases, and research findings taken from the wide range of phenomena studied by cognitive scientists effectively explain and explore the relationship among the three perspectives. Intended to introduce both graduate and senior undergraduate students to the foundations of cognitive science, Mind, Body, World addresses a number of questions currently being asked by those practicing in the field: What are the core assumptions of the three different schools? What are the relationships between these different sets of core assumptions? Is there only one cognitive science, or are there many different cognitive sciences? Giving the schools equal treatment and displaying a broad and deep understanding of the field, Dawson highlights the fundamental tensions and lines of fragmentation that exist among the schools and provides a refreshing and unifying framework for students of cognitive science. "
Peer Reviews
Lifespan Development:
A Psychological Perspective
From the Abstract:"This textbook introduces the idea of lifespan development from a psychological perspective.
Developed by Martha Lally and Suzanne Valentine-French, instructors in the Psychology Department at the College of Lake County."
Peer Reviews
University of Minnesota Libraries
Principles of Social Psychology
From the Abstract:"The presentation is organized around two underlying principles that are essential to social psychology: Person and Situation (the classic treatment), [and] The ABCs of social psychology (Affect, Behavior, and Cognition)...The goal of Principles of Social Psychology is to allow you to rest assured that the text has provided your students with the foundations– the fundamental language of social psychology – from which you can build as you see fit. "
Peer Reviews
Contemporary Perspective on Child Psychology and Education
From the Abstract:"In contemporary understanding, the working areas of children's psychology are expanding considerably. The mental health of the children ensures that they are able to use their developmental abilities, cope with difficulties in life, be productive and be creative, and demonstrate cognitive, emotional, and behavioral characteristics appropriate to their developmental turn. This research was conducted to be able to identify behavioral disorders that may be a sign of children's mental problems and to shed light on the resolution of possible problems by facilitating the follow-up of psychosocial developments during the period of growth. This book presents an overview of the contemporary approaches in the departments of child education and psychology, with the hope of them growing up as happy, peaceful, balanced, thoughtful confident and successful individuals."
Psychology As a Biological Science
From the Abstract:
"This textbook provides standard introduction to psychology course content with a specific emphasis on biological aspects of psychology. This includes more content related to neuroscience methods, the brain and the nervous system. This book can be modified: feel free to add or remove modules to better suit your specific needs. Please note that the publisher requires you to login to access and download the textbooks."
Discover Psychology 2.0: A Brief Introductory Text
From the Abstract:
"This textbook presents core concepts common to introductory courses. The 15 units cover the traditional areas of intro-to-psychology; ranging from biological aspects of psychology to psychological disorders to social psychology. This book can be modified: feel free to add or remove modules to better suit your specific needs. Each module in this book is accompanied by instructor's manual, PowerPoint presentation, test items, adaptive student quiz, and reading anticipation guide. Please note that the publisher requires you to login to access and download the textbooks."
Encyclopedia of Evolutionary Psychological Science
From the Introduction:
" The field is now ready for an Encyclopedia of Evolutionary Psychological Science. This encyclopedia will be extraordinarily comprehensive and wide-ranging. If the standard Handbook runs 500 printed pages, we envision this project might run 1000 printed pages per volume, but of course this will depend on how many entries we include, and the length of those entries. We anticipate having entries of varying length, depending on the importance of the topic or issue. For example, an entry on the prominent topic of “sex differences” might run the equivalent of 20 printed pages, whereas an entry on female orgasm, a more recent focus of research in evolutionary psychology, might run 10 printed pages. And then we expect to have briefer entries still that address much more focused topics and issues (for example, cultural differences in tattooing and scarification)."
Statistics, Research Methods, Lab Manuals
Answering Questions with Data:
Introductory Statistics for Psychology Students
Produced primarily by CUNY Brooklyn College Professor Matthew J. C. Crump, Answering Questions with Data: Introductory Statistics for Psychology Students is "a free textbook teaching introductory statistics for undergraduates in Psychology," and includes "a companion lab manual for this textbook here.""This is a mildly opinionated, non-traditional introduction to statistics. It acknowledges some of the major ideas from traditional frequentist approaches, and some Bayesian approaches. Much of the conceptual foundation is rooted in simulations that can be conducted in R. We us some formulas, but mostly explain things without formulas. The textbook was written with math-phobia in mind, and attempts to reduce the phobia associated with arithmetic computations."
Answering Questions with Data:
Lab Manual
From the Description:"This is the companion lab to our free introductory statistics for undergraduates in psychology textbook, Answering Questions with Data.
This lab manual involves step by-step tutorials to solve data-analysis problems in software. We use open-data sets that are usually paired with a primary research article. Each lab has a separate guide for solving the problems in R & R-studio, Excel, SPSS, and JAMOVI."
Research Methods in Psychology
3rd American Edition
From the Abstract:"This textbook is an adaptation of one written by Paul C. Price (California State University, Fresno) and adapted by The Saylor Foundation...Revisions in the current edition include general reorganization, language revision, spelling, formatting, additional video links, and examples throughout. "
Peer Reviews
Learning Statistics with R: A Tutorial for Psychology Students
From the Abstract:"Learning Statistics with R covers the contents of an introductory statistics class, as typically taught to undergraduate psychology students, focusing on the use of the R statistical software. The book discusses how to get started in R as well as giving an introduction to data manipulation and writing scripts. From a statistical perspective, the book discusses descriptive statistics and graphing first, followed by chapters on probability theory, sampling and estimation, and null hypothesis testing. After introducing the theory, the book covers the analysis of contingency tables, t-tests, ANOVAs and regression. Bayesian statistics are covered at the end of the book."
Scientific Reasoning MCAT Modules for Large Intro Psych Courses
From the Abstract:"The Scientific Reasoning MCAT Modules for Large Intro Psych Courses are a series of 8 modules designed to be used by instructors of Introductory Psychology to teach scientific reasoning skills.
These modules and the information contained herein, such as weblinks, were reviewed carefully at the time of publication [by] Kathryn Becker-Blease, Ph.D. Associate Professor School of Psychological Science Oregon State University."
Research Methods in Psychology 2nd Canadian Edition
From the Abstract:"The first Canadian edition (published in 2013) was authored by Rajiv S. Jhangiani (Kwantlen Polytechnic University) and was licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License. Revisions included the addition of a table of contents, changes to Chapter 3 (Research Ethics) to include a contemporary example of an ethical breach and to reflect Canadian ethical guidelines and privacy laws, additional information regarding online data collection in Chapter 9 (Survey Research), corrections of errors in the text and formulae, spelling changes from US to Canadian conventions, the addition of a cover page, and other necessary formatting adjustments.
The present adaptation constitutes the second Canadian edition and was co-authored by Rajiv S. Jhangiani (Kwantlen Polytechnic University) and I-Chant A. Chiang (Quest University Canada)."
Learning Statistics with JASP: A Tutorial for Psychology Students and Other Beginners
From the Introduction:
"Learning Statistics with JASP covers the contents of an introductory statistics class, as typically taught
to undergraduate psychology students. The book discusses how to get started in JASP as well as giving
an introduction to data manipulation. From a statistical perspective, the book discusses descriptive
statistics and graphing first, followed by chapters on probability theory, sampling and estimation, and
null hypothesis testing. After introducing the theory, the book covers the analysis of contingency
tables, correlation, t-tests, regression, ANOVA and factor analysis. Bayesian statistics is covered at
the end of the book."
Collections
Noba
Psychology
From Noba:Noba psychology textbooks are "Expertly compiled from Noba modules to fit the scope and sequence of common courses. Use them as-is or customize them to fit your needs. Instructor manual, PowerPoint presentations, and test bank available for many modules.
The Noba catalog covers the traditional scope of introductory psychology and then some. With 103 modules (and counting) we're confident you'll find what you're looking for.
Noba modules have been written by some of the most respected psychologists in the business including Elizabeth Loftus, Ed Diener, Susan Fiske, David Buss, and many, many others."
Courseware
Introduction to Psychology | SUNY OER Services
Introduction to Psychology | SUNY OER Services is designed to provide "comprehensive coverage of core concepts grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research, including coverage of the DSM-5 in discussions of psychological disorders. Incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe.
This template course was developed from generally available open educational resources (OER) in use at multiple institutions both within the Virginia Community College System (VCCS) and beyond, drawing mostly from a primary work from OpenStax College Psychology, but also including additional open works from various sources as noted in attributions on each page of materials."
Couseware includes:
- Test Banks and Quizzes provided by Wiley College, Lumen Learning, and OpenStax.
- Lectures, Slides, and Instructor Manual
- Videos and Tutorials
Psychology OERs | CUNY Brooklyn College Psychology Department
These OER resources and course sites were created by CUNY Brooklyn College Psychology Department faculty members for use in a number of courses, including:
- PSYC 1000 | Introductory Psychology
- PSYC 3400 | Statistical Methods in Psychological Research
- PSYC 3450 | Experimental Psychology
Psychology | MIT Open CourseWare
Psychology | MIT Open CourseWare is provided by the MIT Department of Brain and Cognitive Science. "The Department combines the experimental technologies of neurobiology, neuroscience, and psychology, with the theoretical power that comes from the fields of computational neuroscience and cognitive science. [It] was founded by Hans-Lukas Teuber in 1964 as a Department of Psychology, with the then-radical vision that the study of brain and mind are inseparable."
Couseware available includes:
Developmental Psychology | SUNY OER Services
Developmental Psychology | SUNY OER Services is "designed to provide an engaging and personally relevant overview of the discipline of Developmental Psychology. In this course you will examine the cultural, social, psychological, and physiological influences which impact human development from conception to death.
The content in this course was curated by Professor Bill Pelz at Herkimer College / SUNY and is provided under a Creative Commons license."
Couseware includes:
- Modules covering daycare, education, disabilities, parenting, types of families, gender identity and roles, career decisions, illnesses and treatments, and aging.
- Lectures, Slideshows, and Activities for each module.
- Course Notes and Pedagogical Tools
PSY 225: Research Methods
PSY 225: Research Methods is an "Open-Access Active-Learning Research Methods Course by Morton Ann Gernsbacher, PhD."
The course includes fourteen modules including:
Psychosocial Research | Johns Hopkins School of Public Heath Open CourseWare
Psychosocial Research | Johns Hopkins School of Public Heath Open CourseWare makes available course packages for both undergraduate and graduate study created by Johns Hopkins School of Public Heath faculty, including:
- Statistics in Psychosocial Research: Measurement
- Statistics for Psychosocial Research: Structural Models
Each course includes:
- Syllabus
- Lecture Materials
- Readings
Psychology | Open Yale Courses
- Introduction to Psychology
- The Psychology, Biology and Politics of Food
What do your dreams mean? Do men and women differ in the nature and intensity of their sexual desires? Can apes learn sign language? Why can’t we tickle ourselves? This course tries to answer these questions and many others, providing a comprehensive overview of the scientific study of thought and behavior. It explores topics such as perception, communication, learning, memory, decision-making, religion, persuasion, love, lust, hunger, art, fiction, and dreams. We will look at how these aspects of the mind develop in children, how they differ across people, how they are wired-up in the brain, and how they break down due to illness and injury.
This course encompasses the study of eating as it affects the health and well-being of every human. Topics include taste preferences, food aversions, the regulation of hunger and satiety, food as comfort and friendship, eating as social ritual, and social norms of blame for food problems. The politics of food discusses issues such as sustainable agriculture, organic farming, genetically modified foods, nutrition policy, and the influence of food and agriculture industries. Also examined are problems such as malnutrition, eating disorders, and the global obesity epidemic; the impact of food advertising aimed at children; poverty and food; and how each individual’s eating is affected by the modern environment.
Journals
Evolutionary Psychological Science
From the Description:"Dedicated to exploring the psychological aspects of evolution and behavior, this journal provides an international and interdisciplinary forum for original empirical and theoretical papers that address evolved psychology in humans and non-humans. The contents include review papers as well as papers on clinical implications of an evolutionary viewpoint. The journal is informed by the related fields of social and life sciences, anthropology, philosophy, criminology, law and the humanities, with a focus on the ways that this interdisciplinary context contributes to the understanding of behavior."
Phenomenology and the Cognitive Sciences
From the Description:"Phenomenology and the Cognitive Sciences is an international journal that offers a forum for illuminating the intersections between phenomenology, empirical science, and analytic philosophy of mind.
The journal builds bridges between continental phenomenological approaches in the Husserlian tradition and disciplines that have not always been open to or aware of phenomenological contributions to understanding cognition and related topics. The journal presents work by phenomenologists, scientists, and philosophers who study cognition. In addition the journal offers discussion of methodological issues involving the variety of approaches appropriate for addressing these problems.
Phenomenology and the Cognitive Sciences provides critical review articles that address recent work in areas relevant to the connection between empirical results in experimental science and first-person perspective."
Media: Podcasts, Videos, Interactives
Oxford University
Psychiatry Podcast
From the Description:"Psychiatry is a medical discipline seeking to understand and treat mental illness. These podcasts provide an introduction to core topics in psychiatry, and to research undertaken in the Oxford University Department of Psychiatry. This series is relevant to health-care professionals and members of the public. The topic podcasts are particularly relevant to medical students studying psychiatry."
BrainFacts.org: 3D Interactive
Brain
From the About Page:BrainFacts.org. is "a public information initiative of The Kavli Foundation, the Gatsby Charitable Foundation, and the Society for Neuroscience – global nonprofit organizations dedicated to advancing brain research.
Powered by the global neuroscience community and overseen by an editorial board of leading neuroscientists from around the world, BrainFacts.org shares the stories of scientific discovery and the knowledge they reveal. Unraveling the mysteries of the brain has the potential to impact every aspect of human experience and civilization.
This interactive brain model is powered by the Wellcome Trust and developed by Matt Wimsatt and Jack Simpson; reviewed by John Morrison, Patrick Hof, and Edward Lein. Structure descriptions were written by Levi Gadye and Alexis Wnuk and Jane Roskams."