Skip to main content

Course Reserves

Frequently Asked Questions

What is ERes?

Who can use ERes?

How do I know which reserves are available electronically?

How do I access ERes?

What technology is required for access?

How do I find the document/article I need?

What are the deadlines for submitting ERes requests?

How are faculty members notified when the materials they request to be placed on reserve are ready?

How do students know when reserve materials are available for use?

How do faculty find the persistent URL for Course Reserves?

How do faculty link to ERes from Blackboard? 

If a faculty member is submitting materials for ERes, what are the formatting guidelines?

What is ERes?

ERes is an electronic reserves software program that enables students to access linked journal articles from the Library’s subscription databases, scanned book chapters and journal articles, and other materials that faculty may place on the Course Reserves Collection as required course readings.

Who can use ERes?

Access to ERes is restricted, on a course by course basis, to currently enrolled Hunter College students. To ensure compliance with current copyright restrictions, students will be asked to provide a password to enter the ERes course page for their course(s).  Passwords will be provided to students by their professors at the beginning of the semester.

How do I know which reserves are available electronically?

When books and other materials are not available electronically, a link on the ERes page will lead users to the Library’s online catalog screen where they will be able to obtain the call number of the item if it is available in print at the library and check the status of the item. Users should write down the call number, and then request the material at the Course Reserve desk located on the 2nd floor in the Main Campus Library or at the Circulation desks at the branch libraries.

 

How do I access ERes?

Reserve materials can be accessed electronically, on or off campus:

  • Go directly to the Hunter College ERes page:
    * Off campus access to the Library's subscribed databases require an active Hunter College email account. 

 

What technology is required for access?

  • A connection to the Internet, via the campus LAN or an ISP (Internet Service Provider).
  • A current web browser (IE 7.0 or later).
  • A copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your system, with the proper plug-in enabled for your web browser.
  • For remote access, you must have an active Hunter email account. If you are unable to access your account contact the ICIT helpdesk at:
    Students: 212-650-3624 or e-mail snet@hunter.cuny.edu or go to 10th Floor of the North Building, outside the PCS computer labs.
    Faculty/Staff: 212-772-4357 or email helpdesk@hunter.cuny.edu  

How do I find the document/article I need?

Once you are logged into the ERes system, the directions are fairly intuitive. Follow the on-screen commands. The procedure is as follows:

  • Search for your course by department, instructor or title.
  • Make course selection from results list and click on Go.
  • Enter the password provided to you by your instructor.
  • Read the Copyright Notice then click Accept.
  • Material is alphabetically arranged, select the desired material.
  • ERes will open the program needed to read the material (i.e. Adobe Acrobat Reader, MS Word, Netscape or Internet Explorer).

 

What are the deadlines for submitting ERes requests?

To allow time for requested reserve material to be processed and made available for the first day of the school term, all requests should be submitted prior to the following dates:

  • Fall Semester - July 31
  • Spring Semester - December 20
  • Summer Semester - May 1

 

How are faculty members notified when the materials they request to be placed on reserve are ready?

  • Faculty members will be notified via email that includes a URL that links to their specific reserve materials.

How do students know when reserve materials are available for use?

  • After faculty receive their email notification and link (see above) they should notify their students that the reserve materials are available through the library's ERes index page
  • Faculty members must give students a password to access the materials.
  • Students can search by course number, course name, department, instructor or by the document titles/author.
  • Faculty may also create a link in the class's Blackboard page allowing the student to click on the link, type in the class number, and see the listing of all related items (see below).

 

How do faculty find the persistent URL for Course Reserves?

  1. Search for your course in ERes.
  2. Once you are in the course page, click on the Course Info tab.
  3. Copy the link next to “Persistent URL:” in that tab.

 

How do faculty link to ERes from Blackboard?  

  1. Copy the persistent link from ERes.
  2. Paste the link in an appropriate area in Blackboard.
  3. Include the password (if applicable) for your ERes page.

 

If a faculty member is submitting materials for ERes, what are the formatting guidelines?

  1. Format
    The Library will provide linking to its subscription databases. Instructors are encouraged to use library licensed online periodicals and other content because they do not require copyright permissions and the paying of royalties. These resources are governed by licensing agreements, not copyright laws, and may, therefore, be used as needed. Always search for an article in the Libraries’ online journals, and include the URL when completing the online Reserve Request Form. Items for e-reserve may also be submitted in traditional print format. Print items will be converted to Adobe PDF format. In addition to print copies, the Library will accept PDF files on CD. Larger documents must be saved as multiple files (see Length of Document below).
  2. Persistent Links for Articles in Hunter Databases
    When requesting an article be linked from one of the Libraries’ subscription databases, include the persistent URL when completing the Reserve Request Form. The persistent URL is crucial to insuring that the link remains stable, providing dependable access to your students. It is usually clearly marked and located somewhere in the body of the first page, not at the top.
  3. Length of Document
    Documents will be broken down into segments of no more than 20 pages to minimize downloading and printing time.
  4. Full Bibliographic Citation
    Author/Editor, article title, chapter title and chapter number, as well as the journal/book title and page numbers, must be included for each article or book chapter. Please match the titles of the submitted articles with those used on the course syllabus or reading lists, so that your students are able to find the appropriate readings when using ERes.
  5. Condition
    Items to be scanned should be in the best possible condition. For photocopies, please bring a clean, high quality copy of the article for scanning with the full bibliographic citation printed clearly on the first page.
  6. Paper Size
    Cannot exceed 8 ½” by 11". Please note: copies must be single-sided.
  7. Page Orientation
    Please try to limit each item to a single page orientation, either portrait or landscape. Items that have mixed orientations will need to be adjusted after scanning and may take longer to process.