Skip to main content

English 220: Writing about Literature: Websites for Literary Research

Recommended Literary Websites

English Literature Links: another comprehensive list of sites, but restricted to literature and more clearly organized. Again, some of the links provided are more trustworthy and scholarly than others.

English and American Literature Resources (on the University of Connecticut’s libraries’ site): much less comprehensive, but focused and clearly organized by type of site, period, and author name.
 
American Literature Sites: Professor Donna Campbell’s American Literature Site focuses on American Literature and includes lists of sites as well as sites devoted to researching 19th-century literature. A comprehensive index of American writers leads to lists of sites devoted to particular writers.
 
Perspectives in American Literature: index of authors, themes, and topics leading to pages that include biographies, bibliographies, etc.
 
The Making of America Project (University of Michigan): a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
 
The Making of America Project (Cornell University): a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. 
 
Modern American Poetry: fantastic resource that includes primary texts along with biographies of poets and selections from reviews and prominent works of criticism.
 
The Walt Whitman Archive: an electronic research and teaching tool.
 
The William Blake Archive: a hypermedia archive.
 
The Victorian Web: literature, history and culture in the age of Victoria.
 
The Modernism Lab (Yale University): "a virtual space dedicated to collaborative research into the roots of literary modernism." 
 
 

Literary Tools

 

Shakespeare's Globe: take a virtual tour
 
Open Source Shakespeare: a digital concordance

Folger Digital Texts: searchable digital editions of selected Shakespeare plays.
 
WordSeer: a textual analysis tool for the works of Shakespeare, Stephan Crane and Slave Narratives
 
Hyper-Concordance: digital concordances of Victorian writers, plus major British, Irish and American writers of other literary periods; includes the Bible.
 
 
 
 
For Better for Verse: An interactive learning tool for scanning traditionally metered English poetry
 
 
 

Internet Searching

In addition to Websites recommended in academic sources such as Voice of the Shuttle, Internet search engines can provide access to many interesting and credible information and media sites. As always, know your sources and test their credibility!

Google

Bing

Yahoo