Skip to main content

Hebrew Language and Literature

This guide provides resources to learn Hebrew and find scholarly information on Hebrew literature.

How do I find full-text?

Getting the Full-Text

From any database use the FIND IT button to determine whether an article is available online or if Hunter has it in print. Or, if you aren’t in a database, go to the List of Journals/Magazines or CUNY+ and search for the journal title. Note the volume, issue and year of the article and match it up with our holdings.

If a journal is not available at Hunter College, request the article via Interlibrary Loan. Requests are delivered as PDFs.

Search from home

To search any of the library's databases from off campus, simply log in with the same username and password that you use for your Hunter e-mail account (as per the following instructions).

Major Databases for Hebrew Language and Literature

ATLA Religion Database  Index compiled by the American Theological Library Association to books and periodicals covering all aspects of religion and related topics.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (WOS) A major multidisciplinary index to research journals in the arts and humanities, including religion.  Covers 1975 to the present.

JSTOR Full text of scholarly journals in arts and science, humanities, and social sciences. Current journals are not entered into the database for 2 to 5 years. Searchable by topic or by journal name.  Can also browse by discipline -- Religion, Philosophy, Jewish Studies, Middle East Studies, etc.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts LLBA indexes and abstracts journals and other publications in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics.

MLA International Bibliography Major index to literary criticism and linguistics research in journals, books and disertations worldwide from 1963 to the present.

Project Muse  An online collection of full-text journals published by university presses including Johns Hopkins University Press.

How to Identify Scholarly Articles