Skip to main content

New Student Guide to the Hunter College Libraries

A quick guide to get you familiar with what we have to offer.

Hunter College Libraries

Library Locations

The Hunter College Libraries includes four libraries with different collections, as well as the Archives and Special Collections. Read on to learn more about each one.


The Leon and Toby Cooperman Library at Hunter College

East 68 Street and Lexington Ave  •  212-772-4187
http://library.hunter.cuny.edu

The Cooperman Library entrance is located on Floor 3 of the Hunter East Building. The floors are dedicated to specific subjects or functions,including group and silent study areas. The Cooperman Library has individual and group study rooms, dedicated facilities for students with disabilities, and networked computer classrooms and labs for word processing and Internet access.

 

 

 

 

Hunter College Archives and Special Collections

East 68 Street and Lexington Ave, 2nd Floor East Building  •  212-772-4149

https://library.hunter.cuny.edu/archives

The Hunter College Archives and Special Collections, located on the 2nd Floor of the Cooperman Library, collects books and unpublished materials of historical value including records, correspondence, papers and publications generated by the College administration, academic departments, administrative offices, faculty, staff and student organizations since 1869.

 

 

 


Health Professions Library

425 East 25 Street  •  212-481-5117
https://library.hunter.cuny.edu/health-professions

The Health Professions Library (HPL) is located on the second floor of the Brookdale campus. HPL supports the undergraduate, graduate and PhD programs in the following disciplines: nursing, public health, environmental and occupational health, nutrition and food sciences, medical lab sciences, physical therapy, and communication sciences. In the library you’ll have access to over 26,000 books, 25,000 e-journals, 200 print journals, a computer lab with 30 computers, printers, photocopiers, wireless, laptops, wireless cards, and USB adapters.

Contact: John Carey - john.carey@hunter.cuny.edu 

 

 

 


Schools of Social Work and Urban Public Health Library

2180 Third Avenue (corner of E119 St and 3rd Ave)  •  212-452-7076
https://library.hunter.cuny.edu/schools-social-work-public-health

The Schools of Social Work and Public Health Library is a collection of specialist literature in the fields of social work and public health. The Library provides a community space/group study space for the students of the Schools. The Library offers classes about how to use library resources. Resources at the library include: study rooms; photocopiers; and wireless Internet access.

Contact: Meg Bausman - mbausman@hunter.cuny.edu 

 

 

 


Zabar Art Library

Hunter North Building, Room 1608  •  212-772-5054
https://library.hunter.cuny.edu/zabar-art-library

The Judith and Stanley Zabar Art Library offers the Hunter College community a comfortable reading and study space with wireless Internet access and laptops for students to borrow. The Library offers reference help, digital imaging services, color & b/w printing, a book/document scanner, art history theses, current art periodicals, along with 2000+ circulating art books which supplement the art publications located within the Cooperman Library. Individual sessions and group workshops on art-based database use and presentation software are also offered upon request.

Contact: Steve Kowalik, Art Librarian - skowalik@hunter.cuny.edu

 

 

 

 

CUNY Libraries

Hunter College is home to four libraries, each with a distinct collection. As if that wasn't enough, Hunter also belongs to the City University (CUNY) system which provides all CUNY students with access to over 20 libraries in all five boroughs. So no matter where you live, chances are you have a CUNY close by. See a complete list of CUNY libraries, with location and contact information, here: https://www2.cuny.edu/libraries/college-libraries/