Educational Psychology

To assist you with your research, some databases provide the option to search or browse a collection of subject terms or a thesaurus that is specific to the database you are using.  The same way that most disciplines have jargon, databases are created using a specified set of terms called "controlled vocabulary."  According to the Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science, controlled vocabulary is:

An established list of preferred terms from which a cataloger or indexer must select when assigning subject headings or descriptors in a bibliographic record, to indicate the content of the work in a library catalog, index, or bibliographic database. Synonyms are included as lead-in vocabulary, with instructions to see or USE the authorized heading. For example, if the authorized subject heading for works about dogs is "Dogs," then all items about dogs will be assigned the heading "Dogs," including a work titled All about Canines. A cross-reference to the heading "Dogs" will be made from the term "Canines" to ensure that anyone looking for information about dogs under "Canines" will be directed to the correct heading. Controlled vocabulary is usually listed alphabetically in a subject headings list or thesaurus of indexing terms. 

Therefore, if you are researching a topic such as racism in education and you entered the term "racism" into the thesaurus in ERIC, you would see the following:

By using the thesaurus and the controlled vocabulary, you are saving yourself the frustration of searching for an invalid term that may not provide you with the results you desire. It is helpful to keep a list handy of your relevant subject terms and keywords while conducting your research. It will save you time and repeating work.